Tialys Etui Box Instructions – Available Now.

For some time I have had people ask  me if I could do instructions for my étui boxes.  I ummed and aahed and finally decided to do something about it.  The hexagonal boxes I make were taken from a pattern I bought so that was out of the question but my small étui boxes are my own design so I have decided to offer the instructions as a pdf file in my Etsy and Artfire shops.

Firstly, I had to make a box from scratch and, at each stage, take a photograph and note down the steps taken. 

Then I had to work out how to convert the document into a pdf file of a manageable size.

Then, I needed guinea pigs as, when you have been making something for ages, you forget that what seems obvious to you will not seem so obvious to somebody who is making their first étui box.  I asked a friend to test out my instructions and make her own box and then give me her feedback , criticisms and comments.  I remembered somebody who had contacted me on Etsy to ask if I intended doing instructions and tracked her down to offer her a  free pdf  file in exchange for  trying out the tutorial.  This poor woman then received a file so enormous that it must have taken hours to download!!  I have now learnt how to shrink them!

I would say you need a certain amount of skill and competence with a needle to complete one of my étui boxes to a high standard but if you like designing, cutting, sticking and sewing, I think you will find it a fun project. 

 

These make great  little sewing boxes, treasure boxes, memory keepers, trinket holders and also beautiful (if extravagant) gift boxes.  I gave a friend of mine one which held a little pair of  hand-knitted baby shoes and she was delighted.

 

It’s great fun to think up different themes for your boxes and an unusual way to display favourite fabrics.  The top picture was made using some 5″ squares from a charm pack along with a 10″ square of the same fabric for the lid.  Otherwise, a couple of fat quarters are all you need plus a strip of coordinating fabric for the little gussets.  You may find you become addicted – like me!

 

I do ask that, if you use my instructions, you only make the boxes for personal use or in very small quantities for a craft fair for example and, of course, respect the fact that I have worked very hard on creating the tutorial and not reproduce it in any way.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Peter Samuel on December 10, 2011 - 22:43

    Hi

    this looks like a fun project, how do I et the pdf file?
    thanks
    Peter

  2. #2 by Peter Samuel on December 10, 2011 - 22:44

    soort The question was How do I Get the pdf file. The letter G on my laptop is faulty

  3. #3 by tialys on December 11, 2011 - 00:21

    Hi Peter,
    If you click on the photograph it will take you to my Etsy shop where the pdf file is available for purchase. It is a fun project with both sticking and a bit of sewing.

    • #4 by peter on December 11, 2011 - 09:55

      Hi
      thank you for the information. Is there any other way to pay. I di not want to reister with facebook to purchase this
      Many thanks
      Peter

      • #5 by tialys on December 11, 2011 - 13:36

        Hi Peter,
        Whereabouts are you? Can you give me your email address?

  4. #6 by Melanie Karpati on May 2, 2012 - 03:15

    I have made the hexagon Etui boxes before and they have been enjoyed by all who received them. I recently saw a pattern where the outer edge of the lid was done as one continuous piece do you do your this way or seperate then stitch strip from lid onto the edge. I feel that the other pattern would be easier but can’t locate it and thought I would ask a fellow maker for feed back.

    • #7 by tialys on May 2, 2012 - 09:24

      Hi Melanie.
      The card lid pieces themselves are separate, covered with the lid lining fabric and whipstitched on to the lid. Then I use a long fabric strip to cover the outer edge which is then slip stitched in place along the top and bottom edges, cutting off the excess and folding over the end and slipstitching in place. I can’t locate my pattern at the moment but if my memory serves, you cut the strip 2 inches wide, and whatever length will go around the edge with a bit to spare, and then iron half an inch in on both sides to make a 1 inch strip (check that is the correct measurement for your box lid first of all!) and there you go! I prefer to use this method on my hexagonal boxes as I believe it gives a neater finish – I find it easier to make my slip stitching invisible this way, rather than sewing up cardboard covered corners, although I do still use that method for my small boxes but then there are only four corners!
      I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

