Cockerel Trouble

We have a cockerel and 5 hens.  The only reason we have a cockerel (and one of the hens) was because all 4 of the original hens went broody and my husband had the ‘good’ idea of giving them fertile eggs to sit on.  Two hatched and one was a cockerel although, of course, we didn’t know that at first. 

He has been fine until recently when he suddenly took against one of the hens and nearly killed her.  Blood everywhere!  We managed to separate them but every time we let them out at the same time, he goes for her again.  They have a huge garden to wander around in so it’s certainly not overcrowding that’s the problem.

This has led me to a ‘Poultry Keepers Forum’ where I had to ask for advice – I never thought I’d see the day when I’d be on a poultry forum but, there you go.  Some advice given but most of it we had already tried.  So, this weekend, when my husband gets home, I’m going to ask him to make another chicken house and then I’m going to separate them into two flocks.  He won’t be pleased. 

‘Why not do away with him?’   I hear you ask.  Because I’m a fool and we gave him a name and he’s handsome and I like hearing the cockcrow in the morning.

The Villain

The Villain

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

