The Secret Life of France

I have just finished reading The Secret Life of France by Lucy Wadham and I found it really interesting and enjoyable. 

Having lived in France for almost 5 years now I have read quite a few books about France and the French people and, apart from Genevieve’s The Complete Merde, which is extremely useful for knowing what people are calling you and what to call them back,  they often really irritate me. 

The Secret Life of France

I’m not going to do a book review as, unlike many people seem to be, I am not qualified to do so but, although it has its faults,  I did find it intelligently written, well informed, well observed and a very good read.  The author has a bit of a love/hate relationship going on with France but, tellingly, even after divorcing her French husband of many years, she still decided to carry on living here – albeit no longer in Paris.  She covers lots of interesting topics including the French health system and I will say that, after reading about her own experience of giving birth in French hospitals I do regret not having my children in France, bearing in mind the little goodbye gift you get when you leave the hospital.  You’ll have to read the book!

If you live in France, are thinking of doing so or are just interested in France generally this will make a very entertaining read plus, as I did, you might learn some useful things.

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Tnelson on October 1, 2009 - 01:59

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  2. #2 by ann on October 18, 2009 - 18:46

    From your description it sounds as if I wrote the book…!
    I definitely recommend having babies in a french hospital, they keep you in for ages after the birth and pamper you something rotten 🙂

    • #3 by tialys on October 19, 2009 - 21:28

      Too late for me now I’m afraid. I had mine in West Sussex and had to practically beg to be allowed to stay in overnight. Then, the next day, the canteen staff, no less, decided I’d been pampered long enough and made me get up for my breakfast instead of letting me have it in bed.

Leave a Reply

