Paul Newman

Paul Newman

Paul Newman

Just over a year after his death, I came across this photo of Paul Newman today and it reminded me of when I was a teenager.  I had a huge poster of his face on the inside of my wardrobe door and, even though he was older than my dad, I thought he was gorgeous.  With those twinkling blue eyes he looked as charming as he is reputed to have been.  
I loved him in ‘Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid’ and the last scene of the film, which is a freeze frame in sepia tones, where he and Robert Redford emerge with all guns blazing only to be met by volleys of gunfire, still makes me cry.
Just thought I’d share that!
, ,

  1. #1 by Ann on October 5, 2009 - 11:16

    I met him!!! And he was so drop-dead gorgeous even though he was already getting on and seemed to have shrunk and was wearing 3 pairs of glasses (sunglasses on his head, reading glasses on a chain around his neck and his normal specs on his nose…
    Those eyes! That charisma….! It makes me go all shivery and slightly damp just thinking about it. I can even claim to have shared a beer with him but that’s another story. My brother, who was with me at the time, said that he noticed Le Newman kept looking over in my direction after we met. God, I love my brother.

    • #2 by tialys on October 5, 2009 - 15:00

      Well, if I hadn’t already called you a ‘b****’ on another occasion, I would do now. Was he as charming as I imagine he would be? Don’t tell me he was flirty as I love the story of how he said, of his marriage, ‘why eat out on hamburger when you can have steak at home’ (or something very similar) – don’t shatter my illusion. Still, I suppose there’s no harm in flirting and some people seem to do that without actually trying – probably all part of his charisma.

Leave a Reply

