Hexagonal Etui Box – A Deconstruction

Well, I promised that next time I made a hexagonal sewing box I would show you how many different bits and pieces had to be cut out so, as I’m just about to embark on making another two, I’ve laid it all out for your delectation.    I also said I’d probably frighten myself and I have.  Must be mad.

All the hand-cut components for one, yes, just one, hexagonal box.

All the hand-cut components for one, yes, just one, hexagonal box.

Bearing in mind that I’ve just spent the best part of a day, on and off, cutting out two of these, you will perhaps be amazed that I still manage to find it fun.  Maybe it’s the gluey bit, I also like choosing the fabrics – not that keen on doing the teeny tiny stitches these days ‘cos it means I have to put specs on – but what I really love is seeing the finished item and imagining it being used for somebody’s sewing bits and pieces or other goodies.

Anyway, I promised I’d show you but I’m off back upstairs now to get sticky.  I’ll let you see it when it’s finished – you have probably noticed there’s a tea theme going on with this one which reminds me, time to put the kettle on.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by anna on October 19, 2009 - 17:10

    My goodness. It does take so many bits to put the box together Lynn. I can’t say I am surprised really. I have seen these boxes, and it is totally obvious so much work and time goes into each one. Can’t wait to see what this one will look like when it is done x

  2. #2 by tialys on October 19, 2009 - 21:17

    Realised afterwards I’ve left 10 more pieces of fabric out of the picture. The 6 little pieces that go between the sides, the long strip that goes around the lid and the little pockets that go on the insides. Should be finished in a couple of days!

  3. #3 by la marquise des anges on February 11, 2010 - 15:13

    oh my … this is very very vey impressive !!!

  4. #4 by heather aka NiftyKnits on April 23, 2010 - 21:01

    wow – I’m not a fan of sewing up, that’s why I knit in the round. I can’t imagine sewing all those tiny pieces together. In fact, if it was me some of them would be missing before I was halfway through (another reason why I knit in the round, I can’t lose bits!)

    • #5 by tialys on April 26, 2010 - 14:36

      There’s probably a bit more sticking going on than sewing Heather but there are definitely a lot of pieces!

Leave a Reply

