Mistletoe

I remember when I first moved to France seeing lots of trees with huge bird nests in the topmost branches.  Then I realised that they were enormous clumps of mistletoe. 

At the top of my garden there is a small tree that has a clump  growing low enough  for me to examine (and photograph).  I don’t know why I find it fascinating but I remember, in the U.K., seeing dried up, tired sprigs of mistletoe for sale at Christmas so seeing it growing and looking so fresh is great although, of course, I know it’s a parasite so I don’t suppose the tree is as happy.  Nice to have my own, private supply for hanging over the door though!

Mistletoe in my Garden

,

  1. #1 by mentalembellisher on November 21, 2009 - 12:42

    It does look lovely close up and I remembr thinking exactly the same when I first came to Brittany…what HUGE bird’s nests! But this french mistletoe is a real menace. I have lost an apple orchard because of this dreadful stuff 😦
    The second I see it growing on the trees I hack at it with a saw, otherwise it spreads like wildfire ( I know you just want those pompiers back out again )

Leave a Reply

