Etui Box – Japanese Style

Inspired by these gorgeous Japanese themed fabrics, which I found here in France, and my friend Maggie who is a Japanophile (must look up the right word for that!) I decided to make one of my Little Housekeeper étui boxes with a Japanese theme.  I wanted to make a pagoda but couldn’t even begin to imagine how I would make a pagoda-shaped roof to fit one of my boxes without engaging in extremely complicated and time consuming calculations and engineering which would mean spending even more time than I already spend making one of these little houses.   So, I faffed about with the fabric on the roof and used it on the bias, trying to suggest a sort of overlapping and overhanging effect. 

Japanese Garden

 

Inside the Japanese Garden

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by anna on February 7, 2010 - 15:07

    You have done a wonderful job on creating this house Lynn.

  2. #2 by justalittlepiece on February 9, 2010 - 19:33

    This is beautiful.

    • #3 by tialys on February 9, 2010 - 20:51

      Thank-you – I’m working on a new hexagonal box at the moment. A very different feel – it’s all vintage sewing bits and pieces on a natural linen background.

Leave a Reply

