Remembering Mabel Lucie Attwell (1879-1964)

Having a bit of a nostalgia kick at the moment.  I found some gorgeous fabric featuring the whimsical characters of the English artist Mabel Lucie Attwell.  I vaguely remember having some old books around of hers when I was a tiny tot.  Something like this one –

Vintage Story Book

 God, I’m old!

Anyway, I found some fabric that has some of her little creatures on it and, although I don’t often do cutesy, I couldn’t resist the wave of nostalgia that swept over me like a tidal wave of cherubs and pixies and elves and fat-cheeked moppets, so I have made one of my étui boxes and one of my  fabric tubbies from it and let that be an end to it!! 

Etui Box

 

Fabric Tubby - Pixie Party

 

 Right,  I think that’s got the ‘cute’  out of my system.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Laura on February 17, 2010 - 19:53

    Aw! Sweet. My Mum loved Mabel Lucie Attwell.

    We had an illustrated poem of hers on the wall of the bathroom in our old house. It was the one that starts ‘Please remember don’t forget, never leave the bathroom wet’. I think I’m going to put that poem on the wall of our bathroom when Chris and I get our house. The ‘Nor leave the towels upon the floor’ part will be pretty relevant ….. ;o)

    Cute indeed!

Leave a Reply

