Fractal Images

I don’t pretend to understand how it works because it is all based on maths (eek!) but I’ve been having fun on my photo editing software, adding a fractal trace to some of my photos.  Here’s an example involving my printers’ drawer slowly filling up with miniature obects,

The Original Photograph

 

After Applying the Fractal Trace

 

How cool is that?

For those of you want a bit more info, here’s the Wikipedia definition of fractal art: 

Fractal art is created by calculating fractal objects and representing the calculation results as still images, animations, music, or other media. Fractal art is usually created indirectly with the assistance of fractal-generating software, iterating through three phases: setting parameters of appropriate fractal software, executing the possibly lengthy calculation and evaluating the product. In some cases, other graphics programs are used to further modify the images produced. This is called post-processing.

See what I mean!

,

  1. #1 by Susan on June 5, 2010 - 15:12

    I totally love this. I think what you’re doing with these images is fabulous. It’s like Frank Lloyd Wright meets Escher.

    • #2 by tialys on June 5, 2010 - 16:14

      I wish I could take some credit for it Susan but it’s all done with a click of a button in my photo editing software. It’s possible to fiddle about with it too, to get it how you want it, but I wouldn’t know where to start to do it from scratch. I think there’s loads of information on the web about fractal art now and there are some awesome videos that people make where you can actually see all the changes happening – it’s a bit like looking down one of those old toy kaleidoscopes.
      Anyway, I thought I might mess about with it a bit more and I might even create a shop banner out of one of my images.

  2. #3 by Laura Sparling on June 6, 2010 - 00:10

    That’s really groovy!

  3. #4 by jodie on June 6, 2010 - 01:45

    Gorgeous. Its like a never-ending image.

  4. #5 by peazy7 on June 6, 2010 - 02:48

    Nice work

Leave a Reply

