Planning an Heirloom

I can’t tell you how much fabric I’ve got stashed away but, strangely enough, when I decided I wanted to get started on making a quilt for my daughter’s 18th (well over a year away but I don’t want to rush it!!), I decided I didn’t have anything quite right.   I want to make something she’ll like now but also in years to come.    She likes the fabrics in this jelly roll and says they will also remind her of me – bless! – so I’m going to use those with this panel from the same fabric range in the centre.  I’ll decide on the backing and quilting pattern later.

Central Panel

Jelly Roll and Others

The three fabrics on the bottom are nothing to do with the quilt but I can’t resist a bit of text so ordered them at the same time!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jacq on July 20, 2010 - 08:00

    This posting just filled me with emotion! I only have 1 daughter and she is just turning 10 but I have three older sons one of which turned 18 last year and the next will be 18 this year! I find the whole idea of them leaving home soon, painful ! Your gift to your daughter is wonderful. She will always have part of you where ever she goes. The design is beautiful and no doubt you will nail the construction ! Looking forward to seeing it’s progress..

  2. #2 by tialys on July 20, 2010 - 11:02

    Thank-you Jacq – I do feel I’m sometimes a bit over concerned with making things for the shop. When I went on holiday last week I took a hand-quilting project with me which I never get round to when I’m home – too many distractions. I think I’m going to set a day aside, maybe once a week, where I only work on personal projects and then there’s a chance it should be ready by August 2012!! Lynnx

Leave a Reply

