On a Roll

I don’t know whether you saw my post about planning a quilt for my daughter’s 18th birthday (a whole year away yet but it will go soon enough) here https://thetialys.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/planning-an-heirloom/ but I have promised myself to do a block a day and, that way, I should have the top pieced in around 3 months.  I have made 9 blocks so far and I need 120. 

A Beginning

Having bought a jelly roll – which is 42 x  2 1/2 inch strips, cut across the width of the fabric – without any clear idea of how I was going to piece the top of the quilt, I then decided to use the coordinating panel on the back, surrounded by one of the fabrics from the range and completely piece the top – thereby making the quilt completely reversible.  I deicided to make blocks with a square of  fabric surrounded by 4 different strips.  So, of course, I needed to buy 2 charm packs and another jelly roll, which wasn’t easy as this range was (I think) last year’s so isn’t  widely available.  I probably won’t need that much but, better to have more than not enough and I can always make other things from any surplus.

I bought a book with quilt patterns using jelly rolls so now I’ve got another two which I may, or may not, start before  I’ve finished Megan’s quilt.    This is the reason my workroom is a bit of a mess .  Too many projects on the go at once.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

