RicRac and The Baxter Story

Normally, for my Saturday Selection, I feature an item that somebody has made but this Saturday I wanted to feature a person who has not only made an item but has concocted a whole life story around it which has captivated lots of readers on her blog.  I have featured Jodie of RicRac on here before https://thetialys.wordpress.com/2009/09/28/ric-rac/  as she is the incredibly talented creator of the selvedge dress (among other such wonders) but she also makes soft toys, or plushies, and then makes the pattern available so that us lesser mortals can try to emulate her.

At the moment, Jodie  is writing a story around her new character  Baxter,  a hedgehog with a tiny little hole inside of him.   The writing is good but  Jodie’s photographs of Baxter with simple but oh so effective illustrations and props, really make this the hedgehog soap opera of the year!!  You have got to go and catch up with Baxter and see whether his story has a happy ending.  If it doesn’t, I don’t know what I’m going to do!! http://www.vintagericrac.blogspot.com/

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by jodie on October 3, 2010 - 09:52

    hey L , Thanks for the lovely words…I’m pretty sure this is the only current hedgehog soap-opera in blogland, so maybe thats why you think its the best.
    I really above all else love chopping up all that cardboard and making silly things. In baxter 10 I totally cracked myself up with the idea of hedgehog limbo….

    perhaps its a good thing I have to go back to work tomorrow….. (thanks again)

  2. #2 by Christine Kareus on November 2, 2010 - 22:17

    I actually found your blog through ms. jodie’s blog. i love baxter! and ernst and the selvage dress. yes, we lesser mortals! you couldn’t have put it any better. you women are inspiring.

Leave a Reply

