Double Point Virgin

I need some fingerless gloves.  I was browsing through the pages of Etsy & Artfire but then thought, ‘I knit – why don’t I make some myself?’  So, instead of buying the finished article, I bought a PDF pattern.  It came really quickly and then I realised the gloves are  knitted with double pointed knitting needles.  Eek!  Despite learning to knit at my mother’s knee, I have never used more than 2 needles to knit anything before.  Anyway, I looked out my ‘Stitch & Bitch’ manual, bought a pack of rather fetching stripey double pointed needles and made a start.

Getting the hang of octopus wrestling

As you can see, I made life even more difficult for myself by choosing a cable pattern so, of course, that involves 5 needles rather than 4.  I’ve got a bit stuck on the thumbhole but I’ve emailed the very helpful seller, While They Play,  who has given me some tips so I’ll let you know how I get on.

, , ,

  1. #1 by ann on October 31, 2010 - 12:49

    Are they going to be the ones with chopped off fingers or the ones with just a cut off thumb? (you know what I mean) If they are going to be the ones with chopped off fingers then I will be putting in my order very soon! Every craftsperson needs a pair of these for the winter months!

  2. #2 by tialys on October 31, 2010 - 14:08

    Ha!! Who knows how they will end up but, if all goes well, there will be an open topped thumb and the rest of the glove will just end sort of halfway up your fingers so there are no actual finger holes to wiggle your fingers into – like a cut off mitten I suppose. Here’s the finished article http://www.etsy.com/listing/51946720/trilsean-fingerless-mitts?ref=v1_other_2

  3. #3 by atomiclulu on October 31, 2010 - 17:08

    DPN’s are great – I have always loved mine. Here’s the thing though, as a traditional knitter used to holding two “sticks” I stumbled over DPNs this is why I have yet to have an interest in sock knitting. If I might make a suggestion….Look up some YouTube tutorials on MagicLoop. Its all I do now for baby hats to anything joined in the round. For the thumb gusset you may need to implement some rigging but this method eases my knitting lickity split and keeps me sane. Let me know if you have questions about it ! Good luck with those gloves! Beautiful color.

  4. #4 by UniqueNique on October 31, 2010 - 20:14

    Good luck I knit and crochet but prefer crochet because when I knit I always end up with more holes than needed. I look forward to seeing the finished product.

  5. #5 by ann on November 1, 2010 - 14:43

    I will never knit again. Don’t get me wrong, I adore knitting but it only happens (obsessively, fairisle-y and cable-y) when I’m pregnant or lactating. Maybe I’ll get the urge again when I hit the menopause?

  6. #6 by tialys on November 1, 2010 - 15:04

    Never say never! It is yoga for the mind, apparently, but try telling me that when I’ve dropped a stitch and start flinging needles, yarn and obscenities across the room.

    atomiclulu – thank you for that suggestion. Actually, the girl I bought the pattern from also suggested the MagicLoop. I might try first with the DPNs (I like a challenge!) and, if I get in a tangle, I’ll try the MagicLoop as it does look like a really good method and clear tutorial.

Leave a Reply

