Shocking Statistics (1)

Sometimes I see statistics which really shock me.  I thought I’d include some of them here occasionally as I am very generous and like to share my shock with others!

‘855 million chickens are slaughtered for their meat in Britain each year; only 5% of them are free-range’  (The Independent)

I probably found this particular statistic so shocking as I keep chickens myself .  I also thought lots more people bought free range chicken these days.  I suppose, the vast majority go into processed foods like ready meals, chicken nuggets and fast food outlets.  I don’t even want to think about what the statistic for the whole world would be.

HAPPY CHICKENS

, ,

  1. #1 by Anna on November 7, 2010 - 13:34

    Horrid statistic. Makes you want to be an instant vegetarian.

  2. #2 by UniqueNique on November 7, 2010 - 15:42

    I like your chickens

  3. #3 by Jan Marriott on November 9, 2010 - 00:16

    it is disgusting, have you ever seen these ‘chicken farms’? Also, its a disgrace that many cities ban keeping chickens (Toronto included I think) as well ,there are areas that ban hanging your washing out!!! sorry to be on a rant.

  4. #4 by juldwall on November 24, 2010 - 16:35

    I adore chickens. I have known a few chickens in my life who were absolutely the sweetest, most entertaining beings. They were lucky in that they were free range chickens on my uncle’s farm but sadly they were just food and eggs to my uncle. But not me! As a child, I enjoyed many little chats with them. I would sit in the yard and as they went about catching bugs, etc, they chatted with me in their sweet soft tones. Many of them loved music. I hope one day to be settled enough so I can have a chicken companion or two.

    I eat a vegan diet so your statistic saddens me. Doesn’t surprise me, though. I really think people just want to eat. They really don’t put much thought into it — “just give me food”. Doesn’t matter where it came from or what suffering was caused to get it on the plate or in the paper wrapper, or for that matter no thought is given to what the effects on the body will be. We are supposed to be the most intelligent beings. I wonder!

    • #5 by tialys on November 24, 2010 - 17:16

      Hi there! I used to wonder why people were vegans. However, when I was still living in England we lived next to a a dairy farm and now I know!

      • #6 by julie on November 25, 2010 - 18:13

        I have eaten a vegan diet for the last 16 years. I can not pin point the reason I changed my eating habits but I do remember how the sight of raw ground hamburger meat used to turn my stomach. When shopping with my mom, I had to turn away from the cello wrapped meat counter, so gross! Now when I walk into a grocery, the smells of the meat/fish departments are so strong. I try to avoid those areas! My daughter changed to a vegan diet after working in a slaughter house in South Dakota. The cries of the animals were overwhelming and the stench was even worse. My empathy with animals is probably a little over the top for some people, but I have always been that way. Animals are so wonderful and I mean that in the true sense of the word – filled with wonder!

Leave a Reply

