Latex Love

Well, now that I’ve got your attention I may as well tell you that this post isn’t about that sort of latex loving, I needed a snappy title to get some readers back after my shameful neglect of this blog over the Christmas holidays.

Phoebe, the German Shepherd, got a couple of toys for Christmas.  I know, I know and I even wrapped them up but at least I didn’t buy any doggy tutus (although I won’t say I wasn’t tempted).  Usually, toys last minutes and are dismembered and disembowelled before the squeak can start to get on your nerves.  However, an amazing transformation has come over her.  I don’t know whether it’s some belated and misguided maternal instinct emerging or, more worryingly, some sort of doggy psychosis but the chicken, the legs of which you can see below, is now tended like any spoiled baby.  It must go everywhere with her.  If, in an unguarded moment, like the rush for feeding time, she leaves it outside, she makes a pathetic whining noise until we go out and retrieve it.    Good job I bought a pack of 3 😉

As for the pig, it was adopted by my other dog.  It makes a grunting noise and has had to be removed for reasons of sanity preservation and fears about the dangers of latex ingestion.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by UniqueNique on January 6, 2011 - 14:50

    That is cute …. need to find something for my dog he loves his toys to an early demise too and then laments their demise loud and long.

    • #2 by tialys on January 6, 2011 - 20:24

      Well Nique, I think if a dog is intent on destroying something, it will! Those pigs are supposed to be virtually indestructible – I read the reviews! – but my silly French mutt had the trotters and snout off in record time. However, Phoebe seems to have actually formed a bond with the chicken and tends it. Sad really but we laugh!

  2. #3 by Jan Marriott on January 6, 2011 - 17:06

    post bought a smile to my face

    • #4 by tialys on January 6, 2011 - 20:22

      That’s all I can hope for Jan!

Leave a Reply

