Learning New Things

When I still lived in the U.K. I belonged to a patchwork group which met every week and a whole lot of chatting and oohing an aahing over fabric went on and, sometimes, we even used to make stuff.  I have missed this camaraderie amongst the fat quarters so I have been meaning, for the past 6 years, to join a similar group here in France.  Ironically, given my frequent tirades against La Poste, it was one of the post office clerks who discovered I was a fan and offered to take me along to a local group.  Most of my quilting, I have to say, is done by machine as I have neither the patience nor the teeny tiny stitches to do it by hand but my main reasons for wanting to belong to a group are the opportunity to improve my ‘chatting’ skills in French and because it’s one of the only places still left to me where I can be one of the youngest there! 

one of the younger group members

The level of skill of some of the women there is frightening.  I am hoping to learn some new crafts.

Hardanger

 

Hardanger embroidery or ‘ardanger’ as we say in France (!)  is a form of embroidery traditionally worked with white thread on white even-weave cloth, using both counted thread and drawn thread work techniques.  As somebody who almost checks herself into the nearest institution when attempting cross stitch, I’m not sure this is going to be one for me.

Boutis

What I do fancy, however, although it looks incredibly fiddly and difficult, is boutis.  A  tradition in Southern France, the art of boutis was highly prized in the 17th and 18th centuries. Boutis is embroidery on two sewn cloths, giving printed or plain motifs a raised pattern, and filled inside with a layer of cotton.  Ooer!  Tiny, tiny stitches, fiddly patterns, plain white cloth – bring it on! Well, I’m going to give it a try anyway if only because it is traditional in this area and I feel obliged.  Also, I need something to do ‘à la main’ whilst I am with the group so I might as well give it a go.  It will not be anything as complicated as the above.  Yvette (the head honcho of the group) gave me some patterns to trace.  I did laugh. One of them is a big heart, adorned with flowers and there are two birds in the centre.  As if!  I am going to try a single heart!  I’ll let you know how I get on.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jacqueline on January 12, 2011 - 23:22

    Great post. Ha ha. I think I’m also the kind who’d need to check in at the closest institution with cross stitch.

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on January 12, 2011 - 23:27

    lol…yes, do let us know how you get on.

  3. #3 by UniqueNique on January 12, 2011 - 23:58

    It would be nice to know how you get on the Boulis looks like something my granny taught me when I was little what with the tracing of the patterns and stuffing of the stitches – she said it was more to teach me patience than produce a pretty product – but for a youngster who could barely sit still for two seconds it was definitely one of the hardest things I have ever done. Good luck I’m looking forward to seeing what you produce.

    • #4 by tialys on January 13, 2011 - 10:48

      Did it work Nique? I wish somebody had taught me patience – then I might be better with teeny, tiny fiddly things. I’m hoping that something like this might improve my hand quilting. I really want to do some hand quilting on my daughter’s quilt that I’m making but I want to do it as beautifully as possible so I need to get those stitches smaller.

  4. #5 by Mary Ellwn on January 13, 2011 - 17:23

    I joined a quilt guild last year and it does feel good to be called a youngster at 50.

    • #6 by tialys on January 13, 2011 - 17:51

      Next thing to do will be to go on lots of coach trips!

Leave a Reply

