Stanley Socks

Look what I found!

Driving Mr. Tialys down to the doctors on Friday – a story for another time! – we saw a young dog run across the road in front of us and nearly into the side of a passing car.  Unfortunately, this sort of thing is a common sight in this part of France.  A lot of people think nothing of opening their front door in the morning and letting the dog out to wander about.  It used to freak me out completely when we first moved here but I have learnt to differentiate between the ‘old hands’ and those that are actually panicking and probably lost or abandoned.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve driven to the refuge – the police don’t want to know!  There is not really an equivalent of the RSPCA.  The local rescue centre is not publicly funded. 

Anyway, on our way back from the doctors, we saw this little chap again, down in the town centre this time so out came the collar and lead that I always keep in my glove compartment and I went and got him.  I took him to the vets where, miracle of miracles, they found he had a microchip and that they would let me know the name of the registered owner the following day.  Bearing in mind I already have 3 dogs, 4 cats and 6 chickens, it was a bit of a risk taking him home but what could I do?  I couldn’t just turf him out on the street again.  Anyway, before too long Mr. Tialys and the Tialys Teens were thinking up names for him!  I told them not to bother as he would be going home the following day.   However, turns out, the original owner had sold/given him to a family who had him for a week and then decided it was too much, what with 2 kids already and one imminent.  Given that information, I can’t really believe he ‘escaped’ as they claimed but rather they opened the door and waved goodbye.   I told the original owner that we would keep him because I am a totally insane, pathetically soft, soon to be bankrupt, fool.

Say hello to Stanley Socks, or Stan to his friends –

Just as well we’ve got the room.  Mr. Tialys must now work until he is 85 to finance all our animals – forget his dream of retiring at 50! – or I might consider registering as a charity.

But, look at his little face……….

, ,

  1. #1 by karen on January 23, 2011 - 23:27

    you are a big softy like me:) i use to do this a lot but nowadays i have 2 german shepherds, mother and daughter and they dont let anyone else in:)LOL so they keep me under control….k

  2. #2 by Patty Best on January 23, 2011 - 23:36

    I looked at his face, and it is priceless..! I’m sure mr. Tialys will come around and the Tialys Teens already have ( because they don’t have to worry yet about retiring at 85!)

  3. #3 by UniqueNique on January 23, 2011 - 23:51

    Oh my he is beautiful – you are a softy like me I now have 5 cats and 2 dogs and 3 fish all rescues and half the squirrel population thinks it is easy living here. Mr Unique will also have to work forever.

    give stan socks a hug from me – I am so glad you rescued him at least he is in a good home now.

  4. #4 by Jan Marriott on January 24, 2011 - 16:43

    HELLO STAN….

  5. #5 by julie on January 24, 2011 - 17:26

    Awww… Cutie! Thank you for doing this for Stan.

  6. #6 by houdini on January 26, 2011 - 00:37

    Makes me so cross when I hear or read stories about owners who just forget all responsibility towards their animals – when it suddenly becomes inconvenient to own one! Thank God for people like you – with a big heart – and more importantly big home!!! Welcome Stan to your cyber-blog-family too x

  7. #7 by ann on January 26, 2011 - 17:39

    Stanley!!! You are gorgeous 🙂 And my Stanley is wagging his tail like mad looking at your photo !

  8. #8 by Lisa on January 27, 2011 - 09:13

    Heloo Stanley! You are a softie Tialys…

Leave a Reply

