Anthropomorphism in Art

I’m glad I’m writing that word and not saying it – it’s one of those words it’s a bit hard to get your tongue round even before you’ve had a glass of wine.

Anyway, I just came across this shop on Etsy called frighten run by photographer and artist Mari Lowery and thought I’d feature a couple of  her mixed media images as my ‘Saturday Selection’ today.

I like them because they avoid being twee or cute and actually verge on the nightmarish and odd which I mean in a good way.

Who knew that there is actually a team called Anthropormorphic on Etsy, of which Mari is the captain.  Great fun!

I find dolls really scary so I haven’t used any of her images where she’s used them rather than animals but take a look! http://www.etsy.com/listing/65161178/dollface-8×10-fine-art-print

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

