Far, Far Away

 

 

There are times when France seems a million miles away from the U.K.  

My Dad was treated for prostate cancer around 18 months ago but, not only is that still lurking,  he has just been diagnosed with cancer of the oesophagus.  He’s waiting to see what treatment he’ll be offered.

I want to go over and see him but I am booked to go over at Easter anyway and, if I change my plans, it might look weird to him – as if I am fearing the worst and I don’t want him to think that.  He is being very philosophical and upbeat about it all – on the surface – but it must be one of the loneliest feelings, even when you are surrounded by people, to face your own mortality and the anxiety about what the treatment will be like. 

In reality, I could be on his doorstep in around 5 hours, which is about the same time it would take my sister to get there from Wales so I’ll just remember that and be grateful I didn’t move to Australia.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Anna on March 13, 2011 - 17:21

    I am so very very sorry. My thoughts are with you and your family. I understand how difficult this is. I was in Ireland when my father was diagnosed with liver cancer. It felt like I was another planet. (hugs)

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on March 13, 2011 - 18:07

    I understand….I was across the Atlantic when my father was ill, I felt so very far away. A very difficult situation for you.

  3. #3 by UniqueNique on March 13, 2011 - 18:19

    It is so hard my heart goes out to you at least Easter is just around the corner.

  4. #4 by Patty Best on March 13, 2011 - 20:44

    I am so sorry to hear all this. I know what you’re saying by : so close and yet so far. My thoughts and Good Wishes are with you and your dad. Patty.

  5. #5 by houdini on March 19, 2011 - 18:57

    So sorry to hear about your dad. There’s nothing that anyone can say to ease your worry – and no advice that we can offer regarding your visit. At least the world is a smaller place nowadays with ease of communication, mobiles, computers, skype – and excellent and fast travel service – so at least you know that you can be your dad, with speed, should the need ever arise.

    But even so, it’s so hard to deal with our own worry and guilt about not being there. I live two hours away from my elderly parents – and whilst in the same country, at least – it’s not possible to nip in for a quick cup of tea after work, which I know they’d absolutley love! It does mean though that when I do visit it’s for a long period of time, as opposed to the odd half and hour here and there – which is lovely. We speak every couple of days – so at least they feel like there’s a lifeline there – but it’s still hard and I’m still left with those feelings!

    Sending you big hugs and lots of positive energy to your father😉
    x

Leave a Reply

