Went to Post a Letter – Came Back with a Cupboard

…….as you do. Well, I’ve been trying to tidy up my workroom, which is at the top of the house and nobody else goes in there, so it is allowed to get into a bit of disarray whilst I’m working on stuff.  Modesty (or is it shame) prevents me from showing you a photograph of it.  Anyway, I remembered that there is actually a sofa in there – it turns into a bed and is meant for surplus guests – but I had forgotten because it is covered in pieces of fabric!  So, I thought a cupboard would be more practical.  I found one in the local charity shop (a rare animal in France) which is being delivered next Wednesday.  I was going to paint it but the wood is quite good, might be oak, so I don’t know now, what do you think?

I usually think it’s a shame to paint furniture if the wood is in good condition.  I’ll see what Mr. Tialys thinks when he gets back on Friday.  It might just benefit from a bit of a clean up.

Prior to this, I had been wandering around with a big, old one-eared bear under my arm, like a character from Brideshead Revisited or something, as I had seen him when I first got there and – oh, his little face!  Once I’d decided to buy the cupboard, well and one or two other ‘bits’, I thought I’d better put the one-eared bear back as I had spent far too much already.  But when I went to pay, the man asked me where the bear was and, when I explained, he threw the bear in for free.  Bless!  I’m going to take a great big black sack of donations there tomorrow to balance out the karma (and make more room in my house).

By the way, never did get to the post office.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by ann on April 13, 2011 - 12:54

    Paint it! Make it yours, it will be amazing🙂

    (((lopsided one-eared bear)))

  2. #2 by trash on April 13, 2011 - 13:55

    It has taken me many years of working up to it but I am now definitely in the camp of ‘paint if you want’. Plus that bear? He needs a little less miel I’m thinking!

  3. #3 by Scott Zrubek on April 13, 2011 - 14:29

    Ooooh. As a woodworker, I say leave it as it is. The wood is to gorgeous to cover up.

  4. #4 by houdini on April 14, 2011 - 18:27

    OOOOOH what a find – I love that cupboard as it is – but I’m sure you’ll make it absolutley wonderful whatever you do with it😉

    As for that Teddy – gorgeous!! …and what a nice man to throw that in with the cost. Nothing like the charity shops here in England then!!!

    I remember once going into a charity shop (Samaritans) and taking a boot FULL of stuff. Took me 5 trips to the car and back to take it all in! The woman on the desk didn’t even say thankyou! Moments later I found a CD single for 50p that I wanted. Having forgotton my wallet, I only had 43p in loose change in my pocket – and she wouldn’t sell it to me because i didn’t have enough money! I have always supported this cause so I didn’t have the heart to tell her “well I’ll take all my stuff back and you can keep your CD!” Sadly though, that put me off – and now I always take it to another more appreciative charity shop instead.

    I don’t know who prices up – but most things in charity shops these days are extortionate!! So well done!!!

Leave a Reply

