Curry, Chips and Chocolate – Maybe Not All At Once

 

 

I am off  to the U.K. for a few days tomorrow to visit my family and to get my fix of all things quintessentially English.  My invitation to the wedding has still not arrived so I won’t have to buy a hat but these are some of the things I will be availing myself of –

A curry(!)

Fish and chips

The V & A Museum

John Lewis

Brighton Pier

A West End Show

I will be fat and fatigued by the time I arrive back in France but ask me if I care?

I hope everybody who finds their way to my blog now and then (and other people too, of course) has a lovely Easter break with lots of chocolate, friends and family and some more beautiful spring weather.

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on April 22, 2011 - 18:45

    I could do without the pier, but the rest sounds good to me….

  2. #2 by tialys on April 22, 2011 - 20:06

    What do you mean? A nice, brisk, British breeze blowing across the sea, turning the deckchairs inside out and making everybody feel slightly silly for eating ice cream, but only slightly. The bells and whistles of the arcade machines which sound almost as exciting as they did in childhood. The fortune teller’s gypsy caravan which I’ve never dared go in but always wanted to. The helter skelter with mats, threadbare and scratchy and the thrill of wondering how far you will shoot off the end. The wooden slats through which you can see the dark greeny, grey sea and which sometimes creak and make you a bit scared. The smell of salty sea, salty chips and, on a hot day, salty people! The feeling of being able to walk out into the sea without getting your feet wet and looking back on all the people on the beach, wondering how long it would take to swim back there if you fell in. Remembering my mum and my aunty eating hot waffles with strawberries and cream on top while us kids had donuts, hot out of the oil and dredged in sugar.
    What’s not to love?

  3. #3 by houdini on April 23, 2011 - 01:04

    Have fun – and a safe journey…I hope your Dad’s ok too.

    Hoppy Easter😉

    Al x

  4. #4 by EmilyAlice on April 23, 2011 - 05:30

    Have fun! So jealous, hadn’t even remembered it was Easter! I’m sure your wedding invite will arrive soon😉

Leave a Reply

