Painting Myself Out of a Corner

Despite yesterday’s two ‘ode to absinthe’ type posts, I haven’t turned to it to try to get back my creative flow.  Instead, I’ve been getting messy with my paint effects.  I don’t know why but, at the moment, this appeals to me more than doing something with fabrics.  I suspect that might be because the thing I’m supposed to be doing with fabrics, namely my daughter’s 18th birthday quilt, isn’t getting done  and I would therefore feel guilty if I did anything else fabric related.  Does that make sense?

I’m still loving my crackly effects and I’m finding this female torso so useful that I might not be able to part with it (I’m sure that’s been said before).    However, I mean as a prop for jewellery shots and such like and she does actually look very effective as home décor.  Luckily, I am in the mood to make another.

 

I also like this metal effect paint which looks like iron and I meant to make it look rusty with some metallised wax but it turned out looking  a bit ‘posh’ to be rust so I prefer to call it ‘burnished’.

Off now to wash brushes, put lids back on tins and clear away the old newspaper.

What do you do to get your creative juices flowing again after a bit of a lull?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by UniqueNique on May 13, 2011 - 14:24

    This is great – I love that torso and yes you are right it is an excellent prop for jewelry (now I am going to have to find one ;~D). Mostly if I need to find my creative spirit again I just play with my material or sort my glass or beads funny something always seems to arrange itself in my head and soon my hands are just doing what they need to again.

Leave a Reply

