Feeding Ginger

Mr.  Tialys likes ginger beer – he also likes other types of beer but that’s a different story.  Anyway, he likes to make his own ginger beer which appears to involve ‘feeding’ the thing every day with more ginger but, most importantly, more sugar.  

Sometimes it explodes.

As Mr. Tialys is not always here during the week it falls to me to nurture the bubbling, puce coloured, volatile mixture and, although I sometimes forget, I eventually notice its malevolent presence parked on the side in the kitchen and it seems to call  ‘feed me, feed me’, so I do. 

When Mr. T.  eventually arrives home, he does something alchemical to it and it goes into recycled soda pop bottles and gets taken down into the bowels of the house, to emerge a couple of weeks later as something only he can bear to drink.  Although I hear there’s something called a Moscow Mule which also involves vodka……

, ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on May 20, 2011 - 22:02

    reminds me of the time R and our neighbor Roy ( a Brit) made their own beer in our basement, It exploded….and to this day, 30 years on, I can still smell it.

  2. #2 by UniqueNique on May 20, 2011 - 23:39

    Hope you don’t have too many exploding ginger beer foaming little men running around. Have a great weekend

Leave a Reply

