Come In! I’ve Done the Housework.

It has taken me almost 2 weeks to tidy my workroom.  I am never, ever, ever going to let it get that way again – I couldn’t even show you a picture of it before as it was soooooo disorganised and you would have wondered how I ever managed to find anything, let alone make anything. 

Anyway, I’m feeling so smug and virtuous now that it makes me wonder why I don’t tidy things up more often although, of course, the feeling won’t last and, even now, hasn’t extended to the rest of the house.

Tadaaaa!!

Aaaaaahhhh *Self satisfied sigh*

Still too many books but I have always had a weird thing with books where I find it very difficult to get rid of them even once I’ve read them, even the ones that I know I will never ever read again.

Those of you who gave me your opinion on whether or not to paint my new (old) cupboard, will notice that I haven’t painted it but haven’t completely ruled out the possibility.  I cleaned it up with my magic wood cleaner (secret recipe and all that) and then stopped myself from waxing it in case I do decide to paint it after I’ve lived with it ‘au naturel’ for a little while.

How tidy is your workspace??

, , ,

  1. #1 by karen on June 8, 2011 - 16:46

    Your workspace is lovely! It looks very spacious and there is lots of light!!! Well done on the cleaning up!!! You do not want to see my workspace… i cant get in it… after the fair you cant imagine the disaster… today i am cleaning my house and hopeing to get there, to that little room!!!!

  2. #2 by UniqueNique on June 8, 2011 - 17:24

    What a wonderful workspace – mine is relatively tidy but then I am still moving into it so still finding my feet. Yours is lovely well done on getting it organised.

  3. #3 by Wendz on June 13, 2011 - 09:57

    You have a splendid room there. The light and space is glorious – if it were mine I’d spend a lot of time in there.

    My sewing room also very recently underwent a major spring clean and tidy up – it was a fearsome mess with piles and piles of fabric heaped up and the floor covered in thread and fluff from batting. It’s looking good now. And yes the feeling of satisfaction. So good.🙂

    I have a question – in your second photo there is what seems to be a quilt draped over the chair. A thing of beauty, if you ask me. Is it made from vintage sheets/pillowcases? I am not a quilter so don’t know correct terminology but is it a sort of rag quilt? The seams look raw and fluffy. I’d like to make something like that which is why I’m asking.

  4. #5 by Wendz on June 13, 2011 - 10:58

    Thank you so much! I am also put off quilting by the huge amount of work (and finicky precision work at that, which is not my strong point).

    I’ve made one very simple patchwork quilt – well actually it’s a throw, not a quilt as I didn’t have any batting so just sewed the squares together then backed it with an old sheet. It’s embarrassingly colourful and chaotic and full of wonky seams and imperfections but it was easy enough to make. I like the splash of colour it gives to the room.

    I am going to try making this rag quilt now – with batting though, so it’s warm and functional, and not just decorative.

Leave a Reply

