Feeling My Age

Yesterday, amazingly, I had another birthday.  I think I’m probably having around 4 a year now or is time really going that fast?  Anyway, it all started off well and I had lunch with a good friend but, afterward, I made the mistake of using a Photobooth because I need to renew my driving licence and then I was plunged into depression.

It was so bad, I really think if I used this pic of a gargoyle from my garden it would be less scary.

Anyway, I also saw a box full of abandoned teeny tiny kittens on the counter of a shop and couldn’t help wondering what  would happen to them as the shop was about to close and I knew they didn’t open the following day.  I had to force myself away as I’ve already got 4 cats – all of them abandoned as kittens – and can’t possibly take any more home.  Still, it upset me.

However, when I got home, my daughters had put out the flags!

They’d also made me a cake and had bought me some nice gifts which was all very touching.  Plus, although Mr. Tialys was in England, he had left my present with the girls – very exciting – I am going to set it all up this afternoon.

So, now I know to avoid photobooths at all times but particularly on birthdays after a certain age and to never underestimate the power of a homemade cake and a pot of tea.  (An iPad doesn’t hurt either!)

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lillalotta on June 16, 2011 - 13:45

    Ooooo have fun with the iPad! You are so going to love it!
    Sorry to hear about the photo and the kittens, though. Glad your girls were so lovely! I know I was depressed when I just turned 40. Snapped out of it quickly though. Age is but a number!

  2. #2 by karen on June 16, 2011 - 13:55

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oooh i do so know that feeling:))) i am about to take all mirrors out of the house:)) you are lucky you have at least one girl who can make or buy you a cake, i just have a son and between him and my hubby im lucky if i get out of cooking dinner as a gift!!!! but its sooo good to go out for dinner or tea or something with girlfriends…. enjoy your pressies…Karen

  3. #3 by Jan Marriott on June 16, 2011 - 14:48

    Happy Birthday….go with the flow, my dear, as there is not much you can do about it. From one who knows…..

  4. #4 by UniqueNique on June 16, 2011 - 15:09

    Happy Birthday my friend – I hope that despite the photo booth your day was joyous and that your year ahead holds loads of love, laughter and new adventures. As to the kittens I know how you feel I also have had to stop now as we have more animals than people all rescued too. By the way I think the Gargoyle is cute ;~D

  5. #5 by Anna Aicher on June 16, 2011 - 16:50

    Happy Birthday!!!!

    Everything looks so beautiful and I am sure your photo is lovey as well. An IPad…how wonderful for you to have a new toy!!!!
    Enjoy your days and every day you wake up still breathing is a blessing.
    Wishing you many years and many blessings.

    Hugs from the USA, Anna

  6. #6 by jodie on June 17, 2011 - 01:31

    Happy birthday ! i tend to avoid all photos not just on birthdays . Hope you get to celebrate again on Mr Tialy’s return.

  7. #7 by Lisa on June 21, 2011 - 13:12

    Happy Birthday! I am so happy that the day ended well for you. Lucky you to have such wonderful daughters… and a nice hubbie to buy such great presents too!

Leave a Reply

