When I Grow Up I Want To Be A Housesitter

My friend Maureen housesits for people when they go away.  She looks after the dogs or cats or chickens (whatever!) and makes sure the house stays ‘lived in’ and warm and safe.  She might even, if you are really lucky, cook a homemade meal for you on your return.

She has just been housesitting for some people near Montpellier and, as I’d never been to that area of France and it’s not too far from me, I decided to visit her there.  The house is, literally, in the middle of nowhere, and used to be a shepherd’s hut with the sheep living in what is now the living room and him living in what is now the master bedroom.

What a great job!  Trouble is you’d have to be able to leave your own life behind which is no good if you’ve got a partner, kids, dogs, cats and chickens of your own – still, when I grow up………..

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by houdini on November 5, 2011 - 13:07

    Definitely sounds a great job!!!!! Does she get paid for it…or does she do this just for friends?

    What a beautiful house too – although I think I prefer a few more windows.

    As I get older and older I appear to be getting more claustrophobic!

    😉

Leave a Reply

