Animal Sculpture

My ‘sometime’ Saturday Selection item this week features the work of  the talented Jennifer Rudkin who creates some great animal sculptures and, as well as exhibiting, has an Etsy shop, Rudkin Studio.

I can now reveal the sculpture of my german shepherd, Phoebe, which I commissioned from Jennifer as a gift for Mr. Tialys’s Christmas present.  In the event, I couldn’t wait until Christmas so gave it to him for his birthday on Halloween which means I can blog about it without ruining the surprise.  That is, if he ever reads my blog, which I doubt, but you can’t be too careful!

Great isn’t she?  Some of my regular readers may remember my post ‘Latex Love’ where Phoebe fell in love with the rubber chicken and wouldn’t be parted from it.  It was even allowed to keep its squeak.  This lasted for months until, one day, we found it abandoned in the garden minus its head.

Anyway, I love Jennifer’s work, she has a really quirky style which appeals to me plus she is a great person to work with.  I emailed her lots of photos of Phoebe and gave her a character sketch and I think she did a really good job.  You can definitely tell she’s a dog lover herself.

This is the real article, by the way

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Mentalembellisher (@mentalembellish) on November 12, 2011 - 16:26

    Oh…that is just stunning! Really lovely interpretation🙂

  2. #2 by Anne-Sophie on November 12, 2011 - 16:36

    Amazing!
    But there is still one question, THE QUESTION: where’s that poor chicken’s head???
    And this time for Xmas, will you resist to the “tutu temptation”?
    Joyeux samedi!

  3. #3 by Handmade in Israel on December 4, 2011 - 23:50

    Absolutely incredible! I am sure that was a well received gift.

Leave a Reply

