The Bells, The Bells….

I’ve just returned from taking my parents to the airport after their week-long Christmas visit.

My dad’s a fidgety type.  He is never happier than when he is fiddling about with something mechanical – I should say ‘fixing’ rather than ‘fiddling about’ but he tends not to have a 100% success rate and, as he’s not listening……..    

I always worry he will get bored when he visits.  My mum is fine – we catch up on the gossip, she brings her knitting, she reads, she gets waited on hand and foot, as is her right,  but my dad always looks as if he is missing his own armchair and his man shed back in the U.K.

I have found the perfect solution.  I find and buy all the non-working vintage clocks in a 50 mile radius, give him free access to Mr. Tialys’ shed and the can of WD40 and he’s like a pig in the proverbial poo.  Then, if he manages to fix any of them, I can put them in my shop.  Everyone’s a winner!

Well, actually, Mr. Tialys, my Mum and the two Madamoiselles Tialys might not consider themselves winners as they have had to listen to the sound of very loud alarm bells going off all week as the clocks have been on test.  My Dad, of course, is almost stone deaf so this has not been a bother to him.

Still, it was Christmas and you need bells at Christmas.  I hope you had a Christmas with bells on too.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by UniqueNique on December 29, 2011 - 23:44

    Glad you had a good visit and your Dad seems to have had a productive one. I have to agree with you everyone needs some Christmas bells ;~D

  2. #2 by nigellas apprentice on December 30, 2011 - 21:47

    Maybe next year we could try and find something else for him to fiddle with… something that doesn’t make any noise perhaps…

  3. #3 by Houdini on January 3, 2012 - 12:23

    I know what you mean. Both of my parents were here for 4 days over the festive period…and Mum is always fine. She loves pottering, resting, helping, being waited on etc etc – whereas my dad (even though he says he’s fine) often appears to miss his own surroundings, his own remote control, his own comfy chair! Sadly, as my dad doesn’t mend clocks, I have to appease him by making copious amounts of tea instead!😉 HNY x

Leave a Reply

