Buy In Haste – Buy More At Leisure

…Or so the saying goes now that I have reinvented it to suit my purposes. 

I wouldn’t say I’m a particularly impatient person but, once I decide to make something, I want to do it straight away or as straight away as possible.  So when I saw some really cute clasp purses made from Liberty fabric I felt the urge to create.  Trouble is, instead of just ordering the kit from the place I saw it, I decided that I didn’t really need the fabric from the kit as I already have a good supply of Liberty cottons and the purse frame on its own was silly money and I knew I could get a better deal elsewhere so off I went to surf the net.  Which, of course, is where the problems start.  I fell in love with some purse frames and ordered them from one place.  Then I ordered a PDF tutorial to make the purse in what I thought was the right size from another place.  Well, it was the right size but not the right shape.  The tutorial was for a rectangular shaped purse frame and mine is curved(ish).  The ‘ish’ is important because then I bought another PDF tutorial for a curved shape but then realised that mine is a cross between the two.  This is so typical of me.  Anyway, I ended up designing my own and here it is – be kind, it was my first attempt, even though I was cavalier and used Liberty and linen being falsely over-confident in my own abilities.

I’m not entirely happy with it.  I want one that comes up over the ends of the hinges more and has a flat bottom.  Still, I have some more purse frames on order and, this time, I think I have ordered the right ones for the right tutorials so there might be all different shapes and sizes coming up.  Although I may well have moved on to something else by then. 

On my way back from dropping Madamoiselle Tialys the Elder at her guitar lesson and popping in to Carrefour for some ‘bits’ having remembered that  Mr. T. does like to have some food in the house when he comes back at weekends, I went for a rummage in the junk shop as I do.  I found some pieces for my shop but I also saw this bowl which is absolutely huge – I think it was part of a pitcher and basin set – and cracked, chipped and discoloured to death – but it’s such a gorgeous pattern I just had to have it.  Well, they only wanted a euro for it – so I couldn’t just leave it there.  You will see that I have cunningly disguised all the deficiencies by turning the good side outward and filling it with huge hydrangea heads – who would know?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Houdini on January 24, 2012 - 00:56

    You’re like me Lynne – impatient and flitting from one creative thing to the next. I planned to make cake stands last year – I made one, loved it – went mad buying china plates from everywhere and now have a cupboard full! They were going to be Christmas presents – now it will be a new project for when the weather gets a little warmer! I’m on books now….check out my blog!!! xx

  2. #2 by Houdini on January 24, 2012 - 00:57

    …by the way I ADORE that bowl – it’s similar to one I have (- a Miller’s bowl I think they call mine??) – and mine too has the obligatory cracks and chips…well it had been perfect until the cat knocked a candlestick holder off the window ledge onto the bowl beneath!

  3. #3 by wendy on January 24, 2012 - 12:42

    I think I’m like you. A creative butterfly.

    At the moment, I am trying to perfect a pattern for iPhone covers. There are so very many tutorials out there but not one is exactly right so I’ve been making my covers and adjusting the pattern and measurements as I go along. The thing is, I’ve been doing it from good fabric, and also used my own appliqued patterns, and messing up as I go and pulling my hair out …when all along I should have been making them from fabric I will never in a million years use for anything else – fabric I don’t really like anymore, instead of wasting the good stuff.

    I blimmin’ well hope I’ve learned my lesson.

    Today I am going to try again, (my seam allowances/measurements have been a bit off) but from old fabric.

    By the way, your purse is lovely, even if it isn’t 100% what you wanted. That pearly blue clasp is so pretty.

    I have a few purse frames in a drawer – bought off eBay – (because framed purses is the next thing on my To Do list) – I have all the supplies, Gutermanns Craft Glue too (as that’s what has been recommended) – but will practice first with…..old unwanted, fabric.🙂 I’m quite nervous actually – it looks so tricky.

    And your bowl is divine – I’d have bought it too.

    • #4 by tialys on January 24, 2012 - 13:25

      Wendy – I’m using the sew on frames rather than the glue on. At least I was able to unpick the first couple of prototypes!!

      Al, – I too have a cupboard full of china and, every now and again, I actually make a cake stand or jewellery display stand for Tour de Force. Trouble is, the drilling takes for ever and I have to be in the mood and the weather has to be just right for me to set out Mr. T’s workmate out on the terrace. I have made quite a few for friends and for friends to give as gifts. The third shop is defeating me a bit though – there are only so many hours in the day, after all, and I can never get quite enough stock in there. Ho hum. How can some people actually get bored?

  4. #5 by wendy on January 24, 2012 - 15:42

    Thanks for your comment chez moi….just wanted to let you know that I added a Follow by Email button to the blog – I never really think about things like that, so it was good of you to bring it up. Ta.🙂

    And I will echo your wonderment at how can anybody ever get bored…there literally are not enough hours in the day to do all I would like to do. Unless I cut my sleeping time short and that’s not going to happen.

Leave a Reply

