The Mad Bird Lady

Do you remember when you were very young, there would always be a bit of an odd woman who lived in your street and would get a bit obsessed with feeding the wild birds.  According to my daughter, I have now become such a woman.  In this snow we are having at the moment, I get really stressed seeing all the birds frantically searching for food and even the birds that are usually ground feeders are desperate enough to come up on to the balcony to see if they can hold on to the fat ball feeder.  Usually I have the feeders hanging on my balcony, safe from the cats, but as there are so many birds at the moment, I have hung a couple in the tree in the front garden.  I’ve run out of containers so am having to improvise and turned to some of my, as yet unlisted, vintage stock.   A beautiful, enamelled vintage French ladle anyone…….

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Carole Mayne on February 3, 2012 - 17:56

    I love this photo and your creative use of the ladle! My husband will enjoy this, too. He’s an award winning avian photographer. (chrismayne.net) At my house the two scrub blue jays come every morning for peanuts and they too seem to be in a mad dash for food this week, though there’s certainly no snow in Southern California for them to worry about! Thanks for your gentile posts and sensibilities! (-: Carole

    • #2 by tialys on February 3, 2012 - 18:51

      Hi Carole, Please don’t show my pathetic efforts to your husband – I’ve just had a look at his site and his photography is amazing. For my photo, I used a telephoto lens from the balcony because I didn’t want to go downstairs and out in the cold – plus I didn’t even use a tripod because I was too lazy to go up and get it. Then, I cropped it in photo editing to zoom in on the bird a bit more. He will laugh.

  2. #3 by wendy on February 3, 2012 - 23:03

    Lucky bird – such a classy feeder.🙂

    We’re crossing fingers we get snow this weekend – and if we do I may just have to borrow your feeding idea (not that I have a vintage ladle.)

    And actually that photo is lovely.

  3. #4 by Houdini on February 13, 2012 - 02:01

    Beautiful photo and what a great idea by using the ladle!!!!! x

  4. #5 by Handmade in Israel on February 19, 2012 - 20:15

    Such a beautiful photo. I think I’m a mad bird lady too, though my kids currently appreciate that. It may change…

Leave a Reply

