Sulking

 I am back from England but in a huge sulk.  I have no sense of taste.  I don’t mean I’ve started wearing shell suits or listening to Justin Bieber (sorry Beliebers) but I have no working taste buds.  My lovely ginger boy, Henry, is demonstrating their usual whereabouts for you above.

I had a fairly heavy cold at the end of last week which lasted a couple of days but realised something was wrong when I drank some of my daughter’s tea without realising there was sugar in it, the slightest grain of which I can usually detect in a heartbeat.  Also, I was able to stick my nose in a jar of Vicks Vapour Rub without reeling back with streaming eyes and nasal passages as cold and clear as the Cresta ski run as one would normally do. 

So I haven’t tasted any food since Friday – it’s Tuesday now – and I’ve started to get worried.  What if it’s permanent?  The irony is, I seem to be getting very hungry all the time probably because my brain thinks I haven’t eaten anything.

We asked some friends, who drove over from the U.K. a few weeks ago, to bring us some double and some clotted cream as it freezes well and is non-existent here in France.  The plan last weekend was to rustle up some home-made scones and smother them with cream and strawberry jam.  I banned it!  No way is everybody else going to sit round eating scones without me.  Some things would be just too hard to bear.

On the plus side – instead of having a glass of wine with my tasteless dinner I am having an equally tasteless (but healthy) glass of water instead.

I’ll be back when I’m feeling more cheerful.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by wendy on March 6, 2012 - 21:37

    Oh no! That is my idea of hell on earth. Not being able to taste my nosh? Aaagh. I do hope it returns very quickly,

    By the way – did you have lunch in Brighton? We were in Browns on Friday and I thought of you.🙂

    • #2 by tialys on March 6, 2012 - 22:59

      We had a late lunch at Terre à Terre on Saturday after I had pillaged Ditto fabrics and the endless aisles of Snoopers Paradise!

Leave a Reply

