House Clearance – But Not Mine!

  I went to my first house clearance yesterday.   I had known it was going to take place for a few weeks but didn’t really fancy going.  The thought of rummaging through somebody’s belongings whilst they stand by just feels a bit strange to me – especially as I do know the lady involved.  Then, I had to go practically right past her front door so thought I would drop in. 

Apparently, she is moving to be nearer a friend and, although she will still be in France, she is moving from a large house to a tiny appartment and has no room for many of her things.  Mr. Tialys and I have discussed downsizing in our dotage because this house will probably become too much to maintain and the garden especially, being mountainous, would start to run amok.  In the meantime, I continue to expand into the space available – some may say ‘unavailable’ .

This large plaster angel was apparently made by her father, who was a sculptor, around 50 years ago.  She has a few knocks here and there where I think she must have fallen off a wall but I thought she was still charming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was glad that she had stuck little price labels on most things as it avoided the embarassment of constantly asking the price.

Love this mirror, I think it is German.    Anna is actually Swiss and has collected many beautiful things from France, Switzerland and Germany.

This unusual inkstand had been in her family for quite a while.

An old, tin lined wooden box which would have been used for putting hot coals in and then used as a heater or even hot plate.

 However, when I saw this, it was time to call Mr. Tialys, who was happily at home with available car, to come (via the cashpoint!) and help me.  I’ve always fancied one of these and it is nicely aged with splotches on the leather – or patina as I like to call it – but still in great shape.  I can’t tell you how difficult it was getting it up the stairs to our first floor sitting room but I’m sure you can imagine.   I think I provided most of the huff and puff and ‘ow, it’s on my foot’  noises whilst Mr. T. provided most of the muscle power but, hey ho, if you have a 6’4″ husband surely it is incumbent upon you to make the most of him.

I will consider it a ‘fostering’ or temporary adoption as my daughter already has her eye on it.

So, all in all, I was very glad I went and, although she was sad to see some of her items going, Anna said she felt it was quite liberating to be shedding herself of  ‘things’  in this next stage of her life.  One day I expect I will feel the same and then I will have my own house clearance.  In the meantime I am still available to give old and gorgeous things  a good home which I like the sound of as it makes me feel charitable rather than acquisitive.

By the way, I haven’t forgotten that the Scott giveaway ends today and, later on, after the massive response I had(!) I will see if I still have one of the girls’ newborn baby hats from which to draw the 3 or 4 entries.  Sarcasm? Moi?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Houdini on March 27, 2012 - 12:25

    OOOH Lynne – that Chesterfield looks stunning! I’ve been looking at those for years too – I love the ox blood colour you can get too and have nearly bid sooo many times on eBay for one.

    Apparently though my beau isn’t too enamoured about having leather under his butt! However, I always answer with “how about my foot then?!”😉

    If the house sale was someone I knew I’d probably feel the same and say something like: “Oh hello, was just passing, so even though I’ve not actually come for the sale thought I’d show my support”😉 …before proceeding to buy the whole lot!

    I love all of the things you have listed – especially that unusual inkstand and the plaster angel😉

Leave a Reply

