Les Soldes (which is French for ‘a good excuse to buy more fabric’)

I know I said I didn’t need more fabric Your Honour.  I know, like a nerdy anorak type with his CDs in alphabetical order,  I am going to have to sort my fabric  into categories of colours because I have so much of it.  But it is ‘Les Soldes’ in France and, unlike the U.K., they do not have an ongoing sale all year round.  The sales are on specified dates for a specified time and so one must, of course, make the most of them.  That is the case for the defence.  I am just practising for when Mr. Tialys (aka ‘The Prosecution’) returns and wants to know why yet more of the soft stuff has appeared in the house.

I actually have a very good excuse for buying the cream cotton with the tiny white flowers.  I am using it in a quilting project as a background fabric so it makes financial sense to buy it when it’s in the sale.  The gorgeous striped linen on the bottom had 50% off and, although I have no idea what I want it for yet, half price is half price.  The Liberty is Liberty and is beautiful and that’s all that needs to be said.

I rest my case.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on July 5, 2012 - 14:16

    Acquitted…..case dismissed

  2. #2 by UniqueNique on July 5, 2012 - 14:30

    All the fabric is beautiful and after all it was at a good price and you will eventually figure out what you want to do with it – but until then it is great to look at ;~D hope you are having an amazing week

  3. #3 by Janet on July 5, 2012 - 23:15

    Can you not just slide it in between a load of other bits, thereby losing it so Mr Tialys doesn’t notice? Have to say though I think I would have bought the stripey linen and I can’t even sew. I’d just get it out of the bag and admire it now and then and never cut it up. (You can tell I have expertise in this practise can’t you?)
    Anyway, a sale is a sale and if that’s how it is in France then you have to buy it when you can. With you it’s fabric and with me it’s wool. Has to be done!
    xx

  4. #4 by Houdini on July 6, 2012 - 23:45

    What this old fabric? Had it forever hubby-dearset!! Hush now, and let me make you your favourite tea….x

  5. #5 by wendy on July 10, 2012 - 10:32

    Beautiful fabric – you can never have enough!

    And I’ve just been reading that Liberty is introducing quilting weight cottons in August – they are gorgeous and I, for one, will finally splash out and get me a piece or two of Liberty.

Leave a Reply

