Hot Gossip

I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since this post where I told you about going to see Bryan Ferry in a castle.  But it is.  So when the Festival de Carcassonne came around this year I studied the programme and tried to decide who to spend my hard earned on.  I was sorely tempted by Duran Duran mainly because I used to be a bit in lust with John Taylor and I know all the words to their songs – please don’t judge me.  Madamoiselle Tialys the younger is going through a goth/emo/black clothing period and wanted to see Marilyn Manson and I am afraid to say that I made Mr. T go with her as I couldn’t bear the thought even though we are linked in a ‘my brother used to go out with his cleaner’s second cousin sort of way’.  Well, his ex-wife has one of my vintage French finds in her Paris appartment – the buyer name dropped and told me she had bought it for her as a birthday gift.  I digress.  Johnny Hallyday was definitely out for reasons I shouldn’t have to explain to lovers of good music so I settled on Gossip and made the other Madamoiselle come with me.  The charismatic front woman has the most amazing voice and, if you don’t know them have a look here.

This is the gorgeous setting but, as I was not in charge of the camera, we didn’t get a good shot of the band once it had got dark so here’s a pic of the lovely Beth Ditto from another source.

Amazing show – the weather was faultless (it’s  outdoors you know!) , it was packed and there was a great atmosphere.  Definitely made the right decision.  Mr. T. is still recovering – although mostly from the support band and not Marilyn Manson, it’s fair to say.  I love the French.  Maybe I don’t get around enough but, is it only here that they offer the audience free earplugs?  Mlle T. the elder says her (French) boyfriend tells her off for not wearing them at concerts because, if you don’t, your ears will bleed.  This is something that has never happened to me.  I did notice, however, and it wasn’t difficult as the free earplugs were in garish shades of fluorescent yellow, orange and green, that everyone took them out once the support act had finished.  A bit harsh I thought.

Whilst walking around La Cité  (I’m not being pretentious, that’s what it’s called) before the show I felt compelled to get a photo of this little chap peeping out of a shop because, even though I am not a fan of Yorks (as they are called here) I thought he looked cute with his red streak against that lovely pink door.

After getting home around 2 a.m., I made the valiant effort to get up at a decent hour the next morning for a local vide grenier and my efforts were rewarded with some interesting finds

 

I have to freak you out with the last object.  I was drawn to it because it came in its own little ‘étui’ or case and I asked the stallholder what it was and she said a meat tenderiser.  I thought it was a little strangely shaped to bash a piece of steak with so I did some research and I believe it is a ‘masticateur’ and was (or is) for old people , usually, who have trouble with their teeth and can’t chew meat up properly.  This thing apparently effectively does the job for them.  All well and good but you wouldn’t want to be in a restaurant with somebody and see one of these come out would you?   They’ve made an effort with it though, haven’t they?  Look at the little flowers engraved on it.

After all this I found time (by not doing the housework or ironing) to complete another block of my sampler quilt I am making with my little group.  I am afraid that I have cheated and made a couple of them by machine.  I know I said I was going to hand piece them all but I am impatient and have other things to get on with.  Also, every week when I go to the group, the other two have got ahead of me and I am supposed to be the ‘teacher’ so I needed to put a bit of a spurt on.  I am only making a quilt to drape artfully over the back of the sofa (so the cat can sit on it probably) and will just need 12 blocks.  Here are the first 6.  Please don’t zoom in and be critical of my points and joins – I know they are less than perfect but it really will probably just get sat on by the cat and won’t be an heirloom or anything so I am not unpicking as I might normally do (she lied.)

and, no, I haven’t finished my daughter’s 18th birthday quilt yet and she will be 19 next month and leaving to go to university the month after that.  I really, really must get it finished.  I’ll get on to it tomorrow – honest!

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by wendy on July 23, 2012 - 20:29

    What a lovely, interesting, varied post – perfect for a summer’s eve reading.

    I have nightmares of my boys going through some sort of goth phase..right now Nat (14 1/2) is fully into rap – and dresses like a New York gangsta – which is quite funny really – seeing as he lives in a tiny village in the back end of Northern France. And blimey but French rap is nasty (sorry if that offends anybody… but it makes me shudder.)

    Your vide grenier finds are FABULOUS. I am in love with the bust and the pink tea cups – and the crate…droolworthy goodies.

    Your quilt blocks are wonderful – who would criticise those? Heck I wouldn’t even try to make something like that – and they look absolutely perfect to me….bravo you.

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on July 23, 2012 - 20:55

    Great finds…Is this the vide grenier ‘season’?

  3. #3 by Janet on July 23, 2012 - 22:22

    My sister wants to marry Bryan Ferry. (and Sanjeev Bhaskar, her tastes are varied.) I think I would have gone for Duran Duran, the old man bought a cd home a few years ago and I went through a phase of singing their songs very loudly. It has passed now.
    I wanted to lay on my laptop when I saw the pink cups and saucers. Or at least kiss the screen a few times. They’re wonderful. I bought a plate with a pink edge today, (I might muster up the energy to do a post tomorrow and I will try to take a decent photo of it…) I had to get the charity shop lady to get it from out the back. It’s been in the window all week and I’ve been resisting but as soon as I thought someone had bought it I had a mild panic attack. It was only £1.50, I don’t know why I was resisting in the first place.
    My girls haven’t gone through that emo stage, they’ve gone straight from normal little girls to these orange teenagers who have their nails done and wear heels that look like small houses. One is on holiday as we speak, larging it in Aiya Napa with her posse and has told her sister she has had her tragus (I think this is right) pierced but not to tell mummy and daddy. LIke we’re not going to notice it. I had to ask what a tragus was and was relieved to find out it wasn’t anything in the knicker area.
    Love your patchwork, I’m still having fun with bits of paper and old shirts, and have been buying things of ebay like billyho, (I have started a new one, as you do when you don’t really know what you’re doing but like it anyway,) and I’m scared to even try to do it on the sewing machine. I have more control over it when I’m hand sewing. And I don’t have to worry too much about cutting the fabric into perfect squares, I’m only wrapping it round a bit of cardboard after all. I tried doing it in the garden today, it’s hot and sunny here now, but we have loud people living behind us, really, really loud, shout every word, and it drove me inside. But I’m thinking it’s the perfect thing to take on holiday to do round a swimming pool.
    Love the dog with the dyed hair!

  4. #4 by Houdini on July 27, 2012 - 10:34

    Look at those points and joins!!! Shocking🙂 ( not that I know at all what I’m looking for!!)

    I thought at first your post was going to be about Sarah Brightman (!!) I really love The Gossip too – I only got into them through “Standing In the Way Of Control” which I love – and I bought the last album which I also really like🙂 …and WOW what a venue!!!

    Gorgeous vintage finds as always…x

  5. #5 by Trishia Jacobs on November 28, 2012 - 19:46

    OH….while I’m more of an Elvis fan (ha!) I can appreciate any venue at Carcassonne. Been there twice and have wonderful memories there. My kids still tease me about the lady and her doxie that I almost ran over…..On my very first trip to France way back in 1993, I visited Carcassone on the recommendation of an Englishman I met on the plane from Heathrow to Paris. When I arrived by train, everything was covered with snow!

    • #6 by tialys on November 28, 2012 - 20:29

      Well, you were unlucky Trishia. Carcassonne is usually spared the snow. So much so that when some friends of ours tried to buy snow tyres there as they were driving just an hour south to their holiday home and knew it was snowing there, the garage looked at them as if they were crazy!

      • #7 by Jan Marriott on November 28, 2012 - 20:37

        Hope all is well…can you send me your address…..Jan

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

