Must Get On

 

I’m cancelling everything today apart from finishing my WISP (work in slow progress). Three days to go and I have to hand quilt a queen size cover and then bind it. It could just be possible if I fend off appointments, visitors, dog walks, housework., eating, washing, Etsying and phone calls.
Saying all that, I just had to show you these gorgeous new Liberty of London fabrics that arrived yesterday with my postman who I love because he brings me such lovely things although he is a miserable old twonk.  These are from the new Lifestyle Collection which is Liberty of London’s beautiful new line specially designed for quilting and crafting.  They are not as fine as the divine Tana Lawn and, therefore, much cheaper and, therefore, much easier to cut up and use in patchwork.  Tana Lawn will always be my favourite but the designs, as always, are sooo gorgeous and you can’t argue with a less expensive alternative for some projects.
Anyway, off to hand quilt heart and bird shapes . Hopefully I will be able to show you(and my daughter!)  the finished article soon.

, , ,

  1. #1 by wendy on August 9, 2012 - 10:26

    That Liberty fabric looks fabulous. I bought my first ever bits of Tana Lawn from Folksy the other day…and am currently happy to just admire them. I will make something soon though – I also bought some soft, woven cotton, iron-on interfacing – very light and perfect for that Lawn weight – so cross fingers it works out well.

    Definitely going to get some of that quilting weight fabric – just saving up my pennies for now. I’d love to go in to Liberty’s and buy meters of the stuff and well, that needs a hefty purse.🙂

    Happy sewing!!

  2. #2 by Kirsty Owen on August 9, 2012 - 11:28

    Twonk. Love it. Thank you for my favourite new word! Good luck with the quilt.

  3. #3 by Anna Aicher on August 9, 2012 - 18:32

    Best of luck with the project Darlin. Can’t wait to see the end result of your tedious labor of love.

Leave a Reply

