Mystery Item

I went to two vide greniers on Sunday morning but didn’t come back staggering under the weight of new purchases.  I did take Mr. T. with me and he tends to be a restraining influence which is not always a good thing.  I still can’t believe I left a ram’s skull coated in some sort of silver there but maybe, I hear you say, a bit of  restraint is sometimes a good thing!

Anyway, I can’t resist peering into boxes at these places.   Usually they hold cutlery sets, napkin rings or sometimes are empty but I love it when you open one and you see sparkly things like this

A lovely old button, two sparkly brooches, a pair of vintage French cufflinks for Mr. T and a gorgeous old box.  However, what is that item lurking in the back there?  Does anybody know?  It looks like a tie pin at first with two little mother of pearl beads at either end but then the two arms bend upward so the beads meet in the centre as if they were meant to go through a buttonhole or something – sort of like a cufflink would.

 A couple of close ups to help.

What do you think.  We are intrigued!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on August 27, 2012 - 15:26

    OHHHH what a lovely box….. possible the pearl thingy is to button up a dress shirt, there might have been a set of 5 0r 6 with matching cufflinks

  2. #2 by tolmema on August 27, 2012 - 15:38

    I would think it’s a cufflink as well, but to be honest I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen anything like that before. It’s quite nifty though🙂

    I also LOVE the box. I have a bit of a box fetish and tend to hoard the ones that are particularly interesting or sturdy, or have a neat pattern!

  3. #3 by Jan Marriott on August 27, 2012 - 16:01

    changed my mind….don’t think it is a dress shirt stud. Cuff link it is, or perhaps to fasten a cape, waistcoat/other clothing

  4. #4 by UniqueNique on August 27, 2012 - 17:03

    Oh boy I am drooling over that button ( I love vintage buttons). As to your other intriguing device there it looks a little similar to a piece my grandmother had that she used to close her shawl – hers was sparkly though so I am not sure. Does it have any markings on it that you could look up? Let us know if you find out what it is for.

  5. #5 by Houdini on September 18, 2012 - 21:31

    Yeah – something to go through a buttonhole and fasten? so a cape clasp sounds about right…but to be completely honest, I’ve not seen anything like that before. Great finds though😉

Leave a Reply

