Tadaa!!

Finally!

Only one year and 2 weeks late!

I know that I said I’d have it finished for her 19th (should have been her 18th) but there were 4 impediments that delayed me yet again:

1) It was 40 degrees centigrade outside and being submerged underneath a double quilt trying to hand quilt it was a bit uncomfortable

2) I got my first ever negative feedback on one of my shops – completely unjustified of course – which put me in a fit of pique all day

3) I sold a huge utensil holder/drainer to somebody in New Zealand and had underestimated the shipping.  There followed a whole morning wasted whilst I tried – in vain – to use a lighter/smaller box to pack it in but, in the end, had to spend more money than I had received to ship it to the furthest corner of the Earth.

4) My fingers started bleeding

Once I realised I wasn’t going to get it done in time I decided I might as well quilt it a little more heavily than I originally planned.  I use the word ‘quilt’ but, really, my efforts at quilting cannot be dignified with the term and I must describe it as‘ uneven running stitch through 3 layers‘.  I think the problem may well be that I find it impossible to use a thimble either on my top hand or bottom hand and so I can’t ‘rock’ the needle in and out in the movement required to get tiny, or even, stitches.  I must go on a workshop day or something.  Once I’ve done the one for matching points that is.  Anyway. the other lengthy process with this quilt was the fact that I had made the back first and thus had to tie myself in knots working out the size of the top instead of making the top first, like normal people do, and fitting the (plain) back to it.  Ah well, you live and learn and Mlle Tialys the younger will be getting a much plainer quilt for her birthday in February.

So, it isn’t perfect but heyho, it’s handmade and it is very ‘her’.  Girly pink, hearts, chocolate, cupcakes and some Beatles’ lyrics – she might not always be into those things but right now she is so it will be a good memento of her late teens for her.  The fabric is, apart from a couple of additions from my stash here and there, ‘L’Amour’ by Sandy Gervais for Moda which, of course, is now discontinued so, when I ran out halfway through, I had to trawl the depths of the internet searching for somebody, somewhere, with more supplies.  There is a beautiful monogram done in cross stitch by my friend Marie-Jo and some little tapes here and there with allusions to some of her favourite things like London, Paris, cupcakes, tea and home.

She is leaving for university the day after tomorrw and this will be going with her so I made her a special quilt label.  I scanned in a lovely picture from a card I had bought and added some text.  Then I printed it out on some special (and expensive) paper backed fabric which you can feed through the printer.  First, I was thinking about transfers so I reversed the image and tried to iron it on – fool! – so that wasted a sheet of very expensive stuff but then I got it right and was pleased with the result as my embroidery skills are pants and she would be waiting another year for me to embroider all those words!

I am on the verge of tears almost constantly at the moment.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by karen on September 12, 2012 - 01:28

    Ohh this is so fabulous::: Congratulations on finishing it even if it is a bit later than you wanted. I´m sure your daughter will treasure this all her life. Now you need to find a new project i think:))))) best wishes, Karen

  2. #2 by tolmema on September 12, 2012 - 16:27

    What a beautiful quilt🙂 I’m sure your kiddo loves it and will definitely be using it when she sends away for school.

  3. #3 by wendy on September 16, 2012 - 10:38

    Oh what a huge labour of love! I hope Megan treasures it for a long, long time – it’s simply lovely.

    You know, I live in fear of unjustified negative feedback. It’s so unfair. Why can’t people give you the chance to sort the problem out? I would also have had a miserable afternoon if that had happened to me. Commiserations.

    One of the reasons I stopped selling vintage items was the postage issue. I lost money too, on a couple of items, and it’s so time-consuming trying to find the right size/type of container and then wrapping things up securely….no it was such a headache and for me, it just wasn’t worth it anymore. I got too frazzled.

  4. #4 by Houdini on September 18, 2012 - 21:27

    Awww this is beautiful – and well done for completing!!!!

    She’ll be fine – and with this on her bed you’ll always be nearby😉

    As for postage costs – I don’t think I’ve ever broken even on that yet! And what now with increased English postal costs, all of my listings are even more wrong than ever! Sometimes I might as well just give stuff away for free – I’m sure I’d make more from doing that in the long run!!!!!!!

    x

Leave a Reply

