Five Things That Made Me Go ‘Ooh’ Last Week

Well, there may have been more but these are the five I most remember – and happen to have photographs or links for!

Jennifer & DonnaMy lovely niece, who is in the R.A.F., went to South Africa for her wedding.  She looks so happy but I wish they’d swept the beach a bit first!!

davidtennantquiltThis amazing quilt featuring the 10th Dr. Who (David Tennant) made by an amazingly talented person called Kirsty. Click here to see how she did it.

mammography machineA mammography machine – a triple ‘ooh’.   I’ve just realised how like a coffee machine it looks.

DSC_0003Having just got back into making clothes again, this cool fabric that I’ve used to make Mlle. Tialys (the more gothy one) a skirt.  It’s not finished yet (note the hem!) but I was so excited that I had to take a photo.

autismpositivity2013button2A bit of a change from the usual things I blog about but autism is a subject that has touched my life.  Last year hundreds of bloggers came together in a show of support and solidarity in response to an anonymous person’s Google search “I wish I didn’t have Aspergers”. The posts that came flooding in from all over the world were a beautiful example of the power of strength in numbers. With so much negativity still surrounding Autism and the misinformation and misconceptions that continue to abound, people were invited to share some of the positive things they have experienced instead.  This year, on 30th April, the same thing happened and, if you are at all interested, you can read some of the ‘positives’ here.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on May 5, 2013 - 20:19

    I like your nieces 50s vibe dress.

  2. #2 by Jan Marriott on May 5, 2013 - 21:05

    Ok Lynn, just spent about an hour reading the links on autism……there are some wonderful writers there.

    • #3 by tialys on May 5, 2013 - 22:17

      It is a lovely dress isn’t it Jan? I’ll pass on your compliments.

      As for the writers on the autism blogs – they never cease to amaze me. I am inspired and touched by so many of them.

  3. #4 by Lisa on May 5, 2013 - 21:21

    Another interesting post. The wedding looks beautiful and I Iove the fabric for the skirt!!!

  4. #5 by tialys on May 5, 2013 - 22:19

    Thanks Lisa. My friend that I sew with was not impressed at all with that fabric but I think it makes a great skirt for a teenager with a leaning towards the gothic so that’s the important thing plus it made me smile.

  5. #6 by superherodad72 on May 5, 2013 - 23:22

    Love the skirt!

  6. #7 by wendy on May 5, 2013 - 23:27

    I love that skull fabric! Definitely cool for a teens skirt.

    Nice pic of your niece – super dresses there and obviously I agree that SA is a brilliant place to visit, especially for a wedding, awesome venue, but glory be it is rather far too!

    And have a very weak spot for Mr Tennant – actually think he’s quite delectable – so wouldn’t mind having that amazing quilt all for myself. 😉

  7. #8 by tialys on May 6, 2013 - 07:37

    It is far away Wendy but I am hoping they are going to have a more local reception in the not too distant future. Any chance to wear a posh frock these days is welcome – even if I have to go back across the channel to do it.
    I am ambivalent about David Tennant. Sometimes I find him fanciable, as Dr. Who for instance, but not in ‘Broadchurch’ – I think it was the beard and shifty behaviour. Still, he speaks very highly of me 😉

  8. #9 by Lynne macdonald on May 13, 2013 - 18:35

    I only had eyes for the lovely girls and their dresses – didn’t notice the messy beach until you pointed it out 🙂 What a shame you couldn’t go to the wedding – but there is that reception to look forward to! Worth risking the traffic jams in the UK for!

Leave a Reply

