Yoga Schmoga

On Saturday mornings I go to a yoga class.  I go for my body but I wish it would help me with my mind too.  I just cannot meditate or ‘switch off’.  If anybody needed a bit of chanting and zoning out and chakra and zen (see, I even misuse the terminology) it’s me.  My lovely teacher, Elizabeth, who is calmness and grace personified, tells us that, if we find our mind wandering during relaxation or meditation we must just acknowledge it, put it to one side and start concentrating on our breathing again.  I try, I really do but all the time I am thinking of what I am going to do the rest of the day, what fabric I’m going to use for which project, whether there’s going to be a good flea market on the next morning, will I be able to understand the next episode of Dr. Who and just ‘stuff’ in general.  This is why I can’t sleep at night.

I keep going though because it’s supposed to help with arthritis – which I haven’t got yet and don’t want – and flexibility.  Apparently, I am very flexible.  I am keeping this a secret from Mr. T in case he gets any ideas.  Also, who wouldn’t want to pitch up here every saturday morning?

French House

It’s a lovely drive on the way there too.  Lots of fields and greenery and livestock and deserted roads and teeny villages and time to stop and go aaaaaah.

Cow & Calf

Any tips for ‘switching off’ would be gratefully received – preferably non-alcohol related as I do that already  – although not before yoga on a saturday morning.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by sara renzulli on May 13, 2013 - 12:21

    I can relate; totally in the same boat with my yoga class as well as sleep. I might have a tip for the sleep part… My husband falls asleep in seconds. For ten years he has been telling me to “turn my mind off” and I can not. Finally I asked him specifics on how he does it. He said try to concentrate on the weird lights inside of your eyelids. It works! As far as yoga goes, I have conceded that is will just be good for my body because my mind always darts off tasks…. I’ll keep trying though!

    • #2 by tialys on May 13, 2013 - 13:34

      Hi Sara. My husband falls asleep in seconds too. But then he snores at volumes I cannot discuss. He’s always done it – since he was in his early 20s – so I don’t suppose he will change now. I will do as you suggest and concentrate on the weird lights (although I will try not to go towards them!) and be grateful that he works away from home sometimes🙂

      • #3 by tialys on May 13, 2013 - 13:39

        p.s. I absolutely adore your felted creatures – they are totally amazing. I did have a go at felting but it was one of those crafts I didn’t get a feel for. In other words, the results were complete pants and I got dispirited. I have just stalked you on your site and your new work is stunning.

  2. #4 by Jan Marriott on May 13, 2013 - 12:41

    No tips I am afraid, I hate yoga, so boring……but I love to dance and go to a class called NIA as often as I can…up to 4 times a week.

  3. #5 by tialys on May 13, 2013 - 13:30

    I know what you mean Jan. When I still lived in the U.K. I used to go to a class called Body Conditioning which we did to music (and not chanting music!) and it was a combination of Pilates, Tai Chi and aerobics. I loved it but, sadly, there is not much choice around these parts and you have to take what you can get. There is a Zumba class but I have seen my daughter doing it to the DVD and I was very afraid. Still it all has to be good for us doesn’t it?

  4. #6 by Betty Thomas on May 13, 2013 - 14:55

    Try putting a few drops of therapeutic grade lavender essential oils on the bottoms of your feet before bedtime and breath in the lavender – give yourself 10 minutes to think about everything you need to think about and force yourself to keep your mind clear of intruding thoughts. It takes some practice but it works. I use Do Terra oils because they are 100 percent therapeutic grade which means they can be taken internally – most oils are for external use.

    • #7 by tialys on May 13, 2013 - 15:30

      Thank you Betty. Even if it doesn’t work for me, I quite like the idea of lying in a mist of lavender. I had never heard of oils which can be taken internally – I am off to google!

  5. #8 by Lynne macdonald on May 13, 2013 - 18:43

    I’m glad it’s not just me – I’ve had exactly the same problems with any relaxation classes I’ve ever attended. Yet one of my work colleagues used to be so relaxed she’d fall asleep! I vividly remember each NCT teacher giving up on me becoming relaxed in class each time I was pregnant! So no suggestions – sorry – just nice to find a kindred spirit!

    • #9 by tialys on May 13, 2013 - 19:00

      Hi Lynne (with an ‘e’ – I’m one without) and thanks for dropping by and feeling my pain. I just stalked you on your blog and see you are also in France, albeit much further North than me. I also noticed that the SewMamaSew giveaway day has passed me by this year. I can’t think how that happened. Just as well though as I spent far too much time faffing about with it last year and still never won anything. Tant pis!

  6. #10 by wendy on May 14, 2013 - 10:41

    I have that racing mind thing and an inability to switch off and fall asleep. I can lie awake for 3 or 4 or 5 hours before finally giving in to exhaustion and even then my dreams can be very busy and tiring. My hubby, like yours, falls asleep in seconds – he cannot understand why I struggle to relax and sleep, and has given all sorts of sage male advice – none of it remotely useful.🙂

    But I’ve sorted it. I read something about magnesium deficiency and sleep problems, earlier this year, so in desperation started taking a magnesium supplement with supper every night and it worked.

    And when I stopped taking the supplement recently, because I ran out and forgot to buy more, for a couple of weeks, I found myself unable to fall asleep again, with a racing, noisy, mad mind, and on some nights, all out insomnia with not a wink of sleep. And now I am taking it again, restarted about 10 days ago, and zonking out again.

    But I’m afraid I can’t help with advice on relaxing in a yoga class….there is no way I could empty my mind during waking hours…as you said, who can not think about fabric and projects!🙂

  7. #11 by tialys on May 14, 2013 - 10:57

    It’s interesting you mention magnesium Wendy because, although I do take it every day (when I remember!), I usually take it in the mornings. Perhaps I should try taking it at night instead.

  8. #12 by Wendz on May 14, 2013 - 22:04

    Yes, I read some guru or other who recommended taking it about 3 hours before bedtime.

  9. #13 by tolmemat on May 16, 2013 - 16:46

    I love yoga but more for the stretched out limbs than the internal peace I seem to seek but never accomplish. It’s very difficult for me to turn off as well, though I have taught myself to just zone out in general rather than focusing on my breathing. I’d be incredibly un-stretchy if I were to go to a yoga class today, though….

Leave a Reply

