A Moan, A Death, A Sale

noahs arkNoah’s Ark by Edward Hicks (1780-1849)

The deluge continues and I have taken a break from gathering my animals together in pairs to put pen to paper as they used to say in the old days.

Our purchase of some new hens last week turned out to be very timely as when I went to check for eggs in the original chicken hut the other day I was confronted with the sight of a very dead chicken.  Dark Sun is no more.  I don’t know what happened but it is the first time one of our hens has had a ‘natural’ death, a couple of others meeting an untimely and undignified end at the hands (paws) of a new pup.  The cockerel, Darth (don’t ask), who hatched at the same time is bereft at the loss of his sister but still makes an awful lot of noise and I suspect the neighbours are sorry that it was she who went first.

HensThe late Dark Sun (bottom centre) proving that kids should never be allowed to name pets!

Anyway to cheer myself up and to celebrate my vintage shop’s 1000th sale (well, the next one will be the 1000th), I have put the whole shop on sale for the very first time just for the weekend so if you fancy having a virtual browse around a French flea market without getting wet, come and have a look.

La Manche

Have a great weekend – I hope you are having better weather than we are.  I’m  off to light the fire – it’s only the 31st May in the south of France after all.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Wendz on May 31, 2013 - 10:46

    1000 sales! Congratulations – that’s a big achievement. May that number keep climbing. (I sound a bit Confucious-like, sorry. I mean it though.)

    Sorry your chook kicked the bucket – I think if I kept hens I’d get very attached to them. I envy your supply of free-range eggs – man I could do with that. I LOVE eggs. Just had an omelette for brekkie, in fact.

    And it isn’t particularly warm here either – we had the fire on last night too and I made chili con carne for supper (proper winter warmer) but the sun is just breaking through the clouds right now and it might (cautiously) be a sunny day. Living in hope.

    • #2 by tialys on May 31, 2013 - 14:58

      Thanks Wendz. Yes, there is absolutely no substitute for your own hens’ eggs, no matter how much you pay for the best ones in the supermarket. You don’t want to make life too easy for your fox though do you?
      We are eating quite a bit of soup!

  2. #3 by Jan Marriott on May 31, 2013 - 14:32

    1000 sales….Amazing!! ….wish I were so lucky. ( must be your perfect taste, of course)

    • #4 by tialys on May 31, 2013 - 14:54

      Nothing wrong with your taste Jan – it’s impeccable – I lust after your scarves, quilts and vintage fabric.

Leave a Reply

