June

The sun is shining finally and the garden is looking lush – don’t you just love that word – ‘lush’ and ‘haberdashery’ are my favourites – but I digress.  Had to get the camera out and bore you with some photos.

junegarden (5)One thing that does love our ‘high up’ garden is the Iris – a new colour this year

Bicolour Iris

My favourite one

Iris in the Love in a MistI know we should cut back some of the Love-in-a-Mist (or Nigella)………

love in a mistbut then we wouldn’t get any of these

PoppiesIt wouldn’t be June without these self-seeders – last year they were smashed to pieces in a hailstorm

and – yuk alert

dog's tennis ball…….because I’m back outside, the dog wants to play ball.  You can see why I use one those plastic, long handled  ‘hurlers’ to play with him.

I hope the sun is shining on you.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on June 4, 2013 - 14:07

    yes, the sun is shining brightly, but its a bit nippy here at the lake.

  2. #2 by Wendz on June 4, 2013 - 20:31

    Beautiful, wonderful flowers. But heck that ball! I first read this post while I was eating lunch and I missed the yuck warning…nearly threw up.🙂

    You have to be a true dog lover to cope with that, huh.

    Very sunny here but nippy. Sea breezes …..brrrrr! Still, at least the sky’s blue.

  3. #3 by tialys on June 5, 2013 - 09:17

    Oops. Sorry Wendz. It is truly disgusting especially when he comes and drops it in your lap. I bought this long handled thing with a scoop on the end which you can use to throw a tennis ball longer distances but, really, it is to avoid touching it. I wouldn’t mind but he is not a slobbery type dog at all so why this gets so yucky I have no idea. Anyway, he is obsessed with running after tennis balls – even has an identity disc which says ‘fetch junkie’ – so I indulge him and it means that when we are out on a walk, he has about 5 times more exercise than me and the older dogs do.

  4. #4 by Wendz on June 5, 2013 - 10:03

    I see loads of people have those thrower things now – when the tide is out it’s great for beach walking and all the dog owning lot come out too and the beach is swarming with dogs running like mad after those long-thrown balls. It must tire the heck out of them – I always imagine those doggies going home, soaked in sea water and salt and sand, and happily crashing out in a basket and sleeping with twitchy dreams.

  5. #5 by tialys on June 5, 2013 - 10:58

    I would love to walk Stan on a beach but, I’m surprised. I thought most beaches didn’t allow dogs on them. Maybe it’s like here where you can walk them on certain sections – usually a long way from where people usually go, which is very understandable although I have found that humans sometimes leave far worse behind them! Your image of those dogs at home is so spot on – are you sure you weren’t a dog owner in a previous life.

  6. #6 by UniqueNique on June 6, 2013 - 00:04

    Glad you are getting some sunshine and that slobber or not the dog is getting his ball thrown – have a great week

  7. #7 by lovelucie1 on June 7, 2013 - 14:45

    Finally have sun here too. Love-in-the-mist reminds me so much of the gardens of my childhood. I have gathered quite a few things I remember growing up with but am appalling with the names.
    One of my favourites are fox gloves. These take me back to the walks down the country lane in Conwy, North Wales, at Grandma’s. The verges were covered in them.

  8. #8 by tialys on June 8, 2013 - 11:41

    Foxgloves are beautiful Lucie, we had lots of them in Sussex. It is a little dry here for them usually – although not this year!

Leave a Reply

