A Brief Digression Into Baby Stuff

I love making patchwork quilts for babies.  There are plenty of adorable fabrics to choose from, they make brilliant gifts (if you can bear to part with them) and, most of all, they are small.  Hooray!  I can actually fit one under my machine without feeling as if I’m trying to wrestle a huge, flat, soft opponent to the floor whilst coming over all hot and flushy.

Hannah'sQuilt (4)For some reason best known to my inner mental workings, I had already bought this lovely fabric called Scamper by Rebekah Ginda  when I heard my god-daughter was expecting a baby.

It is organic cotton and, as is often the case with me, the design turned out to be organic too as I basically made it up as I went along.

Hannah'sQuilt (2)I picked a sunny day so you can see the backing fabric showing through but you get the idea.

I wanted to do the Tumblers Quilt pattern from Pam and Nicky Lintott’s book , More Layer Cake, Jelly Roll and Charm Quilts but I downsized it to fit a crib and then  ran into scaling problems due to my crap maths and it was difficult to match up those fabrics as they are in quite unusual shades.  The orange, for instance, is not as bright as it appears in the photos but a more muted, amber colour.   Evenutally I found the gingham fabric in the Tilda range and intended to use it for the whole border but then decided on a  narrow one with a lighter, wider one on the outside to make the colours pop a bit more.

Hannah'sQuilt (3)I love the cheater quilt fabric from the range which I used as backing and vaguely entertained the idea of quilting around each hexagon but then I got a grip of myself, sense prevailed and I did nothing of the sort.  Instead, I quilted round the blocks at the front and just did diagonal lines on the wide border.

Hannah'sQuilt (1)Now I’ve heard my grand god-baby (made up relationship) is a girl in waiting so now I’m worried it’s a little too boyish.  Girls don’t just have pink anymore do they?  And, anyway, you can’t have enough foxes, mice, bunnies, racoons and other little creatures that hang upside down from their tails which I can’t quite identify, can you?

Now, back to my next Lady Skater Dress.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on September 16, 2013 - 19:04

    adorable, a wee bit sophisticated.just right for for the modern babe.

  2. #2 by lovelucie1 on September 16, 2013 - 20:08

    Gorgeous. Lovely mixture of fabric patterns. And no, not too boy at all. More modern woodland.

Leave a Reply

