My Dad

I don’t usually write about my personal life on my blog but I felt that I needed to mark my Dad’s passing before restarting my blog in 2014.  I don’t know why, I just did.

We didn’t always see eye to eye and, in the last few years he infuriated me by being too vain to wear a hearing aid so that we all had to shout ourselves hoarse in order to have any sort of communication.  He broke things in my house and mended them with glue and hammer and nails and thought they looked O.K. and, in an argument,  he was always right.  He drove me mad by using a computer but not really understanding what he was doing which didn’t stop him scaring the wits out of me by somehow managing to buy things on Ebay.   He would spend hours and hours fiddling about with stuff like clocks and watches and, when I was a child, radios and T.V.s  – one of my earliest memories is listening to white noise.  He wasn’t very good at small talk so sometimes appeared rude and, when he did the speech at my wedding, he got my husband’s name wrong in the toast and then spent the rest of the evening talking to the only person staying at the hotel who wasn’t one of our guests.

He adored my Mum, he worked really hard, he was generous, he was helpful, he was my Dad.

I really, really miss him.

My Dad

Donald , My Dad, 12th May 1929 – 26th November 2013

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on January 6, 2014 - 19:32

    Lin, I miss my dad too…..and it has been over 40 years.Your dad will always live in your memory and heart.

  2. #2 by katechiconi on January 6, 2014 - 21:53

    We never realise how important they are to us until we don’t have them any more – even if they drove us mad when they were around. My condolences.

  3. #3 by sew2pro on January 6, 2014 - 23:53

    I’m so sorry Tialys. Your dad sounded like quite a character: an original, but there are also things you mention that I recognize. A lovely tribute.

  4. #4 by UniqueNique (@UniqueNique01) on January 7, 2014 - 02:17

    My condolences Lin – I miss my Dad too – so wonderful though to hold those warm memories of the amazing characters they were even if they drove you completely insane at the time. A lovely tribute

  5. #5 by lovelucie1 on January 7, 2014 - 14:26

    Goodness, no wonder you’ve been a little quiet. Sending you my warmest wishes from across the Channel. xx

Leave a Reply

