That Reminds Me – I Must Make A Lampshade

We have a new addition to the family but more of her another day.  Suffice it to say she needed some lady dog surgery and has had to wear a buster collar/collar of shame/cornet/lampshade whatever you want to call it, to stop her pulling her stitches out.  She is only a year old and full of energy so, after the first day and a half when she was effectively a zombie dog while the anaesthetic wore off , she has been driving me to distraction.  She has no apparent sense of having anything round her head so I have been poked and prodded in the legs by a cone of hard plastic, the paintwork on the walls is scuffed, she has scooped up mud (and worse) from the garden on the edge of her cone and smeared it on my rugs,  terrified the cats and captured the other dogs’ butts in the cone’s diameter all the better for a hello sniff.

On the plus side, it reminded me of something I wanted to do.

Buster CollarMy Muse

We have had a standard lamp from Ikea for a while now which had a pleated, coolie shaped shade.  I hated it because those pleats collect dust like nobody’s business and anything that makes housework is not welcome  – I only allow Mr. T, the Madamoiselles and the furred family in the house under sufferance.   Mr. T. hated it for reasons he couldn’t actually articulate – I think it was just a man thing.

Anyway, a new lampshade was needed so I decided to make one yesterday.  I bought a kit.  I dug through my fabric stash and, because I was not alone in the house, and therefore not able to give vent to more eccentric choices, ended up with a smart, if conservative, linen and cream striped drum shade.  Very nice and very ‘study’ like – which is where it is for – but I couldn’t help thinking it lacked a little something.  So, this morning, I got out some of my typical French, traditional shelf edging and found some in linen with embroidered cherries.  I think it adds the finishing touch but, as Mr. T. had already left for work, it remains to be seen if he’ll agree.

DSC_0004

When the lamp is switched on, you can’t actually see the design on the trim, just the shape of it, which looks good but I won’t bore you with another lampshade photograph for now – well, I’m bound to make another one now I’ve had a success!  I might even edge a few shelves with the remainder of the trim or I might add it to the others I have in my shop.

Just noticed this post is looking far too beige so, to brighten it up, here’s a little preview of the new addition.

Dog Tongue

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on January 20, 2014 - 17:02

    Ooh, more pics of the pink-tongued one please!

    I use to live with an Irish Wolfhound and the day he came home with one of those collars of shame (fitted to size) was the scariest day for the cats ever! I didn’t realize they double up as a mud shovel😦

  2. #2 by sew2pro on January 20, 2014 - 17:03

    The lampshade looks lovely btw Hope it gets approval.

  3. #3 by tialys on January 20, 2014 - 18:29

    Oooh, an Irish Wolfhound. My husband would love one but, then, he’s very tall himself so I imagine he has visions of him and the dog striking an impressive pose. I, on the other hand, love the English Bull Terrier which is probably the nearest I’d ever get to owning a pig so I don’t know what that says about me! However, unless one or the other of them ever appear wandering lost in the street or in the local rescue centre we will not be getting either. I am sort of preparing a post about the pink tongued one which will appear in due course – she won’t let me take any more photos until she has shed the dreaded cone.

  4. #4 by Karen on January 20, 2014 - 20:55

    Congrats on the new lampshade, the trim really does the finishing touch!!! Ohh I want to see the pink tongue too!!!!!!!

  5. #5 by katechiconi on January 20, 2014 - 21:43

    Ooh, lovely flash of pink tongue! She sounds, um, delightful! But your lampshade is very chic, that shelf edging is definitely the go, and if Mr T doesn’t like it, he has no taste.

  6. #6 by Jan Marriott on January 20, 2014 - 23:45

    lampshades are so difficult to get right, I hardly ever see ones I like. Yours is lovely.
    So….how did you come by the latest addition ?

    • #7 by tialys on January 21, 2014 - 13:26

      Thanks Jan – I might try a shaped one next.
      Full details about the newbie will follow shortly(ish).

  7. #8 by Frivolous Monsters on January 21, 2014 - 03:38

    We have only ever had cats and I don’t remember them ever needing to wear such a cone. And I don’t know why.
    FM

  8. #9 by tialys on January 21, 2014 - 13:24

    Maybe they were never ‘done’ or maybe they didn’t try to get at their bits (a rare cat that would be though). Our cats have had them and, of course, have to be kept in for the duration so you have the dual misery of a cat wandering around in a cone and having to have a litter tray for them too.

    • #10 by Frivolous Monsters on January 23, 2014 - 00:57

      No all our cats have been done. Male cats become monsters without it!

  9. #11 by lovelucie1 on January 21, 2014 - 14:29

    Your lampshade looks lovely. Very elegant. Having never done this, would you have to by a kit each time or could you use an old one?
    Congratulations on your new addition!

    • #12 by tialys on January 21, 2014 - 16:58

      Thanks Lucie. I bought a kit some time ago, here in France, when I attended a craft exhibition but I haven’t used it yet as it was very expensive and I’m a bit scared of it. It is a shaped one. However, for this one, I bought the (much more reasonably priced) kit from a U.K. company here and I actually bought two as it works out slightly cheaper. They do sell all the components separately also – the special paper stuff you stick the fabric too – the frames etc., but I guess this would be more economical if you were going to make quite a few – or to sell the finished shades perhaps. You can also make them by stripping down the carcasses of old lampshades – in which case you would just need the sticky stuff (stop me if I’m being too technical!). There’s a good YouTube video that shows a woman making a shade from one of these kits but, I must say, she does it much faster than I did – although she’s obviously had more practice.

      • #13 by lovelucie1 on January 21, 2014 - 18:02

        Thanks for that. I’ll look into it. I’ve a stained straight one I’m looking to recover.

Leave a Reply

