A Cover Up

 

queen victoria

I seem to have come over all Victorian in that I can’t bear to see a naked machine in my workroom in case anybody is titillated by a glimpse of walking foot or corrupted by a suggestion of a tension knob.  Actually the Victorians get a bad press in the prudish stakes but that is the subject of another post which I most probably won’t write.

Anyway, you may remember I made a highly complicated and fussy cover for one of my sewing machines.  This time I wanted to protect my ‘bargain from Lidl, Pfaff overlocker’  as it is affectionately if long windedly known,  from dust.  ‘Dust?’ I hear you say, ‘Mais, non!’ but I am afraid that, despite my slavish devotion to housework , specks of dust may sometimes appear.  **Pause to perform Heimlich manoeuvre on family members choking on their breakfast**

Anyway, if you have ever tried – and I’m willing to believe you haven’t – it is very difficult to find a pattern for an overlocker cover.  I mean, I know you could just fold a bit of ready quilted fabric in half and run up the sides but I wanted something that actually fit.  Eventually, I found a free pattern here and adapted the measurements to fit my machine.

overlockercover1

Sorry about the bad light in the photos today but the weather has been pants here lately and, in order to get this one, I had to squeeze myself between a wall and a console table in a narrow corridor which had the only decent bit of natural light.  Anyway, you get the idea.  Although I am a big girl, I went for some Kawaii type fabric as I liked the kissing bunnies, the bambi and the colours PLUS it came from a local shop so no shipping fees which is always a bonus.  And look, I did piping.  It’s all padded and lined too.  There should have been a pocket on the front but I didn’t add one because I will only fill it with stuff and then it will p*** me off whenever I get the urge to serge.

I know some people like to have covers for kitchen equipment like toasters and mixers and stuff but I haven’t gone down that road.  What about you, dear reader?  Do you feel inclined to swathe your equipment in fabric or do you leave it bare and just flick it over with a feather duster now and then?  (ooer Missus)      Do tell.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on January 25, 2014 - 12:33

    Feather duster girl, personally… But I never put my sewing machine away, because I use it almost every day, and hauling it out of its nasty hard plastic case would drive me nuts. Nor do I cover up my computer or any of the household implements, for very similar reasons. I would really love an overlocker, but they’re ridiculously expensive, so unless I locate one on eBay, I’m stuck with the old zigzag finish inside garments, which isn’t especially durable, but is all I can do…. so perhaps it’s just as well I mainly sew quilts! Very funny post (I haven’t hear the word pants applied to the weather for YEARS – about as long as I’ve lived in Australia), keep up the good work!

    • #2 by tialys on January 26, 2014 - 14:02

      I never put my machine away either but this cover is soft and just lifts easily on and off so I try to remember to cover up the machines as part of my tidying up at the end of the day (she says as if that is actually done every single time).
      Last year Lidl in the U.K. were briefly selling a Singer overlocker for £149 and I was peeved until I realized that Lidl France was doing a Pfaff one for 139 euros so I nabbed one a bit sharpish. I am guessing you dont have Lidl in Australia as they are very European.

      • #3 by katechiconi on January 26, 2014 - 14:05

        No Lidl. Only a few Aldis here and there, and none where I live. It’s going to have to be eBay…

  2. #4 by Wendz on January 25, 2014 - 12:52

    Oh you clever clogs you! That looks very swish. I love a bit of kawaii too – in fact, without other peoples love for the cute and the kitsch I doubt I’d be selling much….so, long live kawaii!

    I also need to make a couple of covers for my machines…even though they are used every day for hours at a time, they do get very dusty. (Yes, to answer your question….. for me it’s the the occasional, far-too-infrequent, flick over with a duster – not feather though – one of those fluffy, microfiber ones.)

    I’d also like an overlocker – especially as I hope to make myself some clothes this year …..I have the patterns and the fabric…now just need the time. And an overlocker.🙂 Zig-zag edging it is for now – but it does look so homemade-ish, doesn’t it.

    • #5 by tialys on January 26, 2014 - 14:08

      I am chuffed to tiny bits with my overlocker – apart from when it comes unthreaded for any reason – usually when I have tried to machine over pins – then I call it bad names. I still can’t get over how professional the seams look when you’ve used an overlocker. As I said in my reply to Kate above, I did get mine at a bargain price otherwise I might not have bothered as I don’t make clothes on a regular enough basis to justify the cost of a more expensive one. Having said that, it is handy in all fabric based crafts too – everything looks much neater.

  3. #6 by Karen on January 25, 2014 - 18:54

    My old and dilapidated singer sewing machine still has its original cover ( I’ve had it over 20 years) and I must say that I actually find it a nuisance and often leave it off when I know I will be using it in the near future.
    Pants… I’ve never heard that word used to talk about the weather:)

  4. #7 by tialys on January 26, 2014 - 14:10

    I just found this on an American’s guide to speaking British – in the ‘slang’ section

    “Pants – This is quite a new expression – I have no idea where it came from. Anyway, it is now quite trendy to say that something which is total crap is “pants”. For instance you could say the last episode of a TV show was “total pants”.

    There you go – and so much more polite than some of the more extreme anglo-saxon expressions. I didn’t realize I was ‘trendy’ though!🙂

  5. #8 by lovelucie1 on January 27, 2014 - 14:02

    A lovely looking cover. I’m all for making a functional cover into a thing of beauty. Beautiful neat work. And it gave you an excuse (if you needed one) to use that gorgeous fabric that you might not readily use elsewhere.
    It would make me smile.🙂

  6. #9 by tialys on January 27, 2014 - 15:55

    Thanks Lucie, you’re right about the fabric – I’m lucky enough to have a room at the top of the house which is exclusively my workroom so I can use whatever fanciful fabric I like in there without fear of disturbing anybody else’s sense of taste.

Leave a Reply

