Let’s Go Flo – A Change of Subject

Today, I have a guest blogger – much more photogenic than me and less verbose.

This is me, my name is Flo. I was found wandering the streets, in the rain, in November.

Rescue Dog

Somebody took me to the dog pound and when nobody claimed me after ten days I was transferred to the refuge.  Luckily, I ended up in a pound with a refuge attached otherwise I might have been put to sleep.  I think I might have lived with a family before – the Missus says I’m house trained – but they didn’t think to identify me in any way so the Refuge couldn’t contact them.

Rescue CollieThe refuge was noisy and a bit scary and I had to share my kennel with a great big labrador who was very friendly but he nicked all the food.   The people at the refuge named me ‘Froggy’.  The Missus says it must be because of my weird back legs.  I don’t know what she means.

Collie Cross DogThe Mister and Missus decided they had space for another dog and they wanted to help out the local Refuge who are always so crowded so they came to choose a dog on New Year’s Eve.  There were so many gorgeous dogs they said they had a really difficult choice but, as you can see, I’m stunning, and I know how to get round people so here I am relaxing on the grass which is much more comfy than concrete.

igloo

 Here is another dog the Mister and Missus were considering.  His name is Igloo and I must admit he’s rather gorgeous.  I’m surprised he hasn’t been homed yet.

Rescue DogsThis is me playing with one of my new brothers, Stan, who was also found wandering in the street – by the Missus herself – he was microchipped but when the owner was contacted they said they didn’t want him anymore -he was only 7 months old.

DogsCan you tell by my face what I think about his obsession with tennis balls?

Happy Dogs

He is actually quite handsome

Waiting for Treats

Here’s my other new brother, Taz, he’s 8 now but he was thrown out of a car at 7 weeks old along with his brother.  Luckily, some youngsters saw it and took them  into a local vet where, it just so happened, the Missus arrived shortly afterwards with one of her cats and ended up taking him home with her.  I am pretending not to be interested in the training treats on offer…..

Three Rescue Dogs

………….but I couldn’t keep it up!

Sleeping Dog

At the end of the day, I can snuggle up on the sofa and my seven weeks in the Refuge seems like a distant dream.

Our local refuge, in Carcassonne,  does a marvellous job but they get very little funding and rely on donations and, of course, on people adopting  the dogs (and cats of course!)

I don’t want to be preachy, especially on what is normally a craft blog, but if you are ever looking for a dog to share your life, please don’t forget to consider a rescue dog, it can be so rewarding and you may have saved a life.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by katechiconi on January 28, 2014 - 13:22

    What a gorgeous girl! Clever face, lovely doggy smile.

    • #2 by tialys on January 29, 2014 - 11:22

      She is clever – must be the border collie in her. She is also almost impossible to wear out – I’m exhausted.

  2. #3 by sew2pro on January 28, 2014 - 13:46

    I’m a bit watery-eyed right now, I admit. How lucky these doggies are to have found you!

    I recently went to an animal rescue just for a visit and am still daydreaming about being mum to some of cats and dogs there but the house is full, apparently😦 Hope Igloo gets some well-deserved love soon.

    • #4 by tialys on January 29, 2014 - 11:28

      If you live close enough to your local rescue you could always ask if they need volunteers to walk the dogs or something like that. Our local one is around an hour’s drive from me (although that is not too bad here as the roads are very good and not crowded) but I plan to go for an afternoon every few weeks to help out – I mustn’t bring any more home though!

  3. #5 by Mary on January 28, 2014 - 15:30

    Beautiful pics. So glad you found each other. I am typing this with my two rescue dogs on the sofa beside me. They are the best!

    • #6 by tialys on January 29, 2014 - 11:29

      They are Mary. I’ve stalked you over on your blog to have a look at your brood – all lovely!

  4. #7 by lovelucie1 on January 28, 2014 - 15:32

    It looks like she has fitted in very well. What a lovely looking dog. A beautiful addition to your family.

  5. #8 by tialys on January 29, 2014 - 11:30

    Just got to fatten her up a bit – she’s a little skinny – although she certainly eats enough.

  6. #9 by Lisa on January 29, 2014 - 17:47

    I am smiling as I read this post. Beautiful dog. Beautiful Missus🙂

  7. #10 by tialys on January 29, 2014 - 18:37

    Thank you Beautiful Reader!

  8. #11 by UniqueNique (@UniqueNique01) on January 30, 2014 - 03:57

    Thank you they are all gorgeous dogs and lucky to have found their way into your heart. Rescued animals are the best and yes please everyone if you have some space in your heart and home rescue a friend and you will find they rescue you right back🙂

  9. #12 by tialys on January 30, 2014 - 08:06

    Thanks Nique – it sounds like you have had some experience.

  10. #13 by Jan Marriott on February 6, 2014 - 05:14

    What a nice looking family….Stan is such a good boy.

  11. #14 by creative pixie on February 8, 2014 - 17:36

    Gorgeous dogs. I’ve got 2 cats but would like a dog at some point.

Leave a Reply

