Little Liberties

Regular readers will know I love Liberty fabric and use it whenever I can but, there comes a time, and my time came a while ago, when a pastel pink floral Liberty print dress will not look good on you.  I would put the limit at, maybe, 25 years old but you may differ.  It is possible I believe, and hope as I have done it,  to make blouses and other tops with a ditsy, floral Liberty print and get away with it but, dresses, no. **

I have lined bunny ears with it, made coin purses and fabric storage baskets but I wanted more from my Liberty stash.

So, as I long ago left the age of 25 behind, I decided to make teeny tiny dresses in order to indulge my addiction.

Here are a few I’ve finished or semi-finished.

Little Liberty dresses

Actually, that last one in red and white is Tilda fabric but you get my drift.

I have even been using Liberty of London cotton jersey to make miniature skater dresses like my Lady one.  It’s a good use  of my new overlocker and I still can’t get over how the seams look so professional when done on a proper serger.  The cotton jersey is gorgeous but it is quite difficult to find, especially in prints that are suitable for very little girls.  These ones were from Sewbox who have quite a good range of Liberty fabrics at reasonable prices.

Liberty of London Baby Dress

This one is teeny, for 0-3 months, it makes me feel quite broody although that’s something else I have passed the limit for.  Perhaps the dogs would like a dress.  Somebody stop me!

** I must here mention a notable exception because there is a blog I follow ‘The Little Tailoress’ and she made a ditsy, pink, floral Liberty dress and looks damn gorgeous in it.  She is, however, probably only 25 or very near to it anyway.  You can see it here.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sew2pro on February 15, 2014 - 16:36

    Oh, those dresses are so sweet! But I hope you’re not pressurizing your daughters into producing grandchildren (“anything to stop mum dressing up dogs…”)

    What overlocker do you have?

    • #2 by tialys on February 15, 2014 - 16:48

      God forbid! One of them still can’t manage to keep her own room tidy and the other one is costing us a fortune at University.
      I bought an Pfaff overlocker here in France from Lidl of all places. It was briefly in stock and on offer at 139 euros and, so far, I am delighted with it. It has even survived my beginner mistakes like trying to overlock pins and testing out the cutting blade on them :{ I am much more careful now as that carelessness meant I had to re-thread it and that’s not something anybody wants to do too often.

  2. #3 by Wendz on February 15, 2014 - 19:26

    Those dresses are delightful! Are you going to sell them?

    I am also a Liberty fan and keep buying the stuff….I get mine from Alice Caroline as she has a huge range and also sells from FQ to full metres. I use them to make phone and iPad covers…am building up a range of those, slowly. So so so pretty….sometimes I sit and admire the fabrics and finger them….sounds a bit sad but oh they are divine!🙂

  3. #4 by Wendz on February 15, 2014 - 19:30

    Just back to say I had a look at The Little Tailoress’ dress…it’s fabulous! Great dress pattern.

    I took delivery of that same fabric, but in lilacs and purple, just 2 days ago and when I opened the package I know I let out a very audible “ohhhhh……”. 😄. It is gorgeous.

    • #5 by tialys on February 16, 2014 - 14:12

      I am making to sell Wendz as I haven’t any little ones in the family at present. I must try and find a local tot who would be willing to model for me.

      I remember, ages ago, on one of your blog posts, when you went to Liberty’s and came away with nothing. I couldn’t believe it. I knew you would come round!

  4. #6 by Jan Marriott on February 15, 2014 - 20:47

    You know how I feel about Liberty fabrics!!
    I am thinking of pairing the L print with a solid…….using the print for a jacket lining,collar or some kind of insert…

    • #7 by tialys on February 16, 2014 - 14:13

      Yes Jan!! That would be brilliant. You must reveal on your blog if you decide to go for it.

  5. #8 by katechiconi on February 15, 2014 - 22:46

    The only way you can wear a ditsy pink Liberty print over the age of 30 is as a severely tailored shirtwaister, teamed with a fabulous belt. I’ve seen this look good; a combination of girly print and almost military styling seems to work. Otherwise, I’m with you on this. Shirts only after 30. Such a shame…

  6. #9 by tialys on February 16, 2014 - 14:15

    That sounds good Kate. Would the softness of the fabric suit a sharply tailored garment though? I’d be interested to see if you’ve got any links to photos of such dresses.

  7. #10 by lovelucie1 on February 18, 2014 - 14:58

    These are sooo adorable. I’m glad you’ve commented above that you are going to sell them. I was getting a little worried that you have a giant doll fetish.
    Will you be watching the Sewing Bee tonight? Can you get it where you are?

  8. #11 by tialys on February 18, 2014 - 19:32

    Well, they have moved the satellites in an attempt to stop people further afield getting the U.K. terrestrial channels. Much wailing and gnashing of teeth in the south of France and Spain, I can tell you. However, with the help of a laptop and and HDMI cable, the Great British Sewing Bee will prevail! I’m looking forward to it and hope they have kept the calm, unfussy format and not gone for new gimmicks – I’ll watch The Voice for that🙂

Leave a Reply

