A Feverish Weekend Blog – Atchoo!

I’ve got a cold and feeling very sorry for myself.  I haven’t had many colds at all since moving to France and this is my first one for 5 years so I am making the most of it.  I am managing some incredibly loud sneezing fits, going through boxes of tissues as if I had been watching ‘The Notebook’ (again),  professing not to be able to taste anything so may as well not bother to cook (but ‘perhaps could just eat something if you’re doing it anyway’), ensuring everybody notices that the slightest exertion is making me short of breath,  appear to be covered in an attractive red rash which always happens if I’m a bit poorly and generally wafting about the place no use to man nor beast.

I’m doing as little as possible.  I think these two have the right idea although nobody would want to be that close to me at the moment so I might have to drape myself decoratively somewhere solo.

Curled Up Cats

Did you have a pull-along dog when you were a child?  I did – I think – and if I didn’t, I should have – and I’ve always fancied buying a vintage one for nostalgia’s sake.  Hard to see one that isn’t ripped, isn’t a donkey and isn’t an absolute fortune though so, when I saw Northfield Primitives’ Shop on Etsy I just had to go for one of her gorgeous dogs.  Handcrafted in Yorkshire, Sarah makes her animals on her old Singer treadle machine.This one (my one!) is made with hand-coloured mohair,  has a rusty bell and vintage meccano wheels, I am in love.

Hand Made Vintage Style Pull-Along Dog

Something else I bought on Etsy recently was this little pincushion ring from Lifepieces.  I have bought gazillions of her gorgeous pincushions for myself and as gifts and they are beautifully made – so much so, I can hardly bear to stick pins in them but, when I saw this one, I had to have it.  Look! That little owl is a pin – can you bear it?

pincushionring (2)

 Is it practical?  I’m not sure.  Is it gorgeous? Well, obviously.  Redressing the balance after my rant about re-sellers on Etsy recently – these sorts of shops remind me how it is still possible to find beautiful, hand made items from skilled artisans on the site when you really look.

Anyway, having no energy to do my usual housework chores (!) I have forged ahead with my new addiction.

Two at a time socks

I know it looks like I’m knitting a pair of sunglasses or a bikini top for a two year old but I am, in fact, knitting a pair – yes, you heard right – a pair of socks.  At one time.  On one long circular needle.  From the toes up. And…… drumroll…… I appear to be matching the stripes at the same time.  A bit ambitious for only my second pair of socks I know – considering the first were in nice chunky wool too and very fast to knit – but I know that I will be prone to ‘Second Sock Syndrome’,  a medical condition discovered by scientists studying the lifestyles and habits of sock knitters whereby, in layman’s terms, you finish one sock and then can’t be arsed to do the second one.  Not wanting to suffer from this – especially on top of a cold – I decided to go down the toe up, two at one time route and, with the help of the  internet and some incredibly helpful people who selflessly write out  reams of instructions and take loads of close up photos (or video themselves) for no apparent personal gain, I am on my way.

Honourable mentions for such tutorials go out to Knit Purl Hunter for ‘Judy’s Magic Cast On’ here 

                                                                                                       Liat Gat for Magic Loop Knitting here

                                                                                                       and Heidi Bears for knitting two socks at one time on one circular needle here

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by mandymunroe on February 22, 2014 - 19:11

    Feel better, glad you’re well enough to knit, it’ll speed up the healing!

    • #2 by tialys on February 23, 2014 - 17:05

      Thank you Mandy

  2. #3 by Jan Marriott on February 22, 2014 - 21:22

    I am soooooo impressed with the socks.

    Drink lots of of water and knit on, get well soon.

    • #4 by tialys on February 23, 2014 - 16:53

      Thanks Jan – I’m already feeling a lot better but can’t taste anything which is a shame as Mr. T. usually does the cooking at weekends so I’m missing out.

  3. #5 by sew2pro on February 22, 2014 - 22:18

    Yes, get well soon. Surely your warm socks will help. Are they your cats? I love the possessive body language of ginger.

    • #6 by tialys on February 23, 2014 - 16:55

      Thank you. Yes, that is Henry and Salem. Henry (ginger) is on a mission to become the fattest cat alive. It isn’t obvious in this photograph as most of his bulk has sunk behind Salem. jI don’t think Salem could get up even if he wanted to.

  4. #7 by katechiconi on February 22, 2014 - 23:07

    Ah. In the old days, they’d have said “she is enjoying poor health”, meaning she was extracting the maximum benefit from her situation. Bravo, ma’am! Make the most of it! I feel that draping yourself attractively under a nice cosy blankie, and issuing occasional (OK, frequent) demands for hot water bottles, tea, a little snack or the TV remote control is the correct strategy in this instance. You are, after all, merely extracting compensation for all the care and attention you have showered on your dear ones when they were sick…

  5. #8 by tialys on February 23, 2014 - 16:56

    Kate – you read my mind – it’s mere compensation.

Leave a Reply

