Flo’s Progress – A Dog’s Diary

Since I came to live here from the dog rescue in January, I have been settling in nicely.

This week has been busy for me and The Missus says, because of that, she hasn’t been able to get much done.

Today, for instance, I rolled in fox poo when we were out on our walk and had my very first bath.  I didn’t like it.  Afterward, I ran straight out and jumped in the fish pond so that I would smell nice again.

I have four cats to play with but, I’m not sure they like me as much as I like them.  Henry peed in my dog bed this morning and The Missus said, cat pee smells so bad the bed would have to go in the washing machine.  However, as I had chewed a lot of my dog bed up, the stuffing was coming out so she had to sew it up with upholstery thread before she could put it in the machine.

Beau is my favourite cat.  He is very dog friendly and always comes to see me first when he comes through the cat flap.

Flo'sPets (3)I love to collect things from around the house.  The Missus says she wouldn’t mind  but I have a habit of chewing them up.  Because of this, I have to sleep in the kitchen at night and not with the other dogs.  So far this week I have enjoyed four dog blankets, the aforementioned dog bed, two pairs of prescription glasses, a skirting board, a set of four vintage buttons, a garden clog, a voodoo doll (don’t ask) , a roll of sellotape, a packet of Customs labels, one of a pair of gardening gloves and a PS3 remote.

Flo's Dogs (1)

I like that Beau and I are sort of colour coordinated

Flo's Dogs (2)

and sometimes we have ‘who has the longest tongue’ competitions.  I always win.

I know sometimes I get called a pain in the arse – I think it’s a term of affection – and The Missus says I will ‘mature’ as the other dogs have done so I don’t think she regrets getting me from the refuge because she often asks “who persuaded me to get another dog?” and I think it’s because she wants to thank them.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on March 4, 2014 - 22:06

    Oh no…..not the vintage buttons!
    Didn’t know you had 4 (four!) cats as well……..

    • #2 by Ann Martin on March 4, 2014 - 22:24

      Aww, but who couldn’t love that sweet face?!

      • #3 by tialys on March 5, 2014 - 00:13

        I think she knows she can get away with murder.

    • #4 by tialys on March 5, 2014 - 09:13

      Yes Jan – the cats seem to arrive in pairs.

  2. #5 by katechiconi on March 4, 2014 - 22:27

    She’s a sweet girl, but I don’t envy you the chewing and rolling thing….

    • #6 by tialys on March 5, 2014 - 00:18

      I don’t think I’ve ever had a dog that didn’t have a penchant for chewing something or other. Taz used to steal socks and from the laundry and dishcloths from under the sink which we then used to find in the garden having passed whole through his system and Stan had a thing for soft furnishings. Thankfully, they’ve both grown out of it so I live in hope. They will all still have a roll if they get the chance though – Eau de Fox seems to be the equivalent of Chanel No.5 in the doggy world.

      • #7 by katechiconi on March 5, 2014 - 00:20

        It could be worse. Eau de Corpse is pretty bad…

  3. #8 by sew2pro on March 5, 2014 - 02:15

    Favourite sentence: “so far this week I have enjoyed…. ” lovely!

    Flo is adorable. I imagine soon as you look into those eyes, all crimes are forgiven.

    • #9 by tialys on March 5, 2014 - 09:14

      Hmmm – sometimes it’s harder than others.

  4. #10 by Flower Wild on March 5, 2014 - 10:22

    That last picture! Oh my gosh it’s too cute for words🙂

  5. #11 by lovelucie1 on March 5, 2014 - 15:18

    That did make me laugh. Hope the status quo is returned soon. I imagine you can’t get too cross for long. She looks adorable.

    • #12 by tialys on March 6, 2014 - 12:17

      Most adorable when she is asleep.

  6. #13 by Wendz on March 5, 2014 - 16:23

    Always admiring of people who tenderly forgive their pets such awful crimes – even with that cute face, I’d be hard pushed not to get really, really cross. An amusing read though – sorry it was at the expense of your glasses, buttons etc.

    ‘Eau de fox’ – LOL!🙂

    • #14 by tialys on March 6, 2014 - 12:16

      ‘Tenderly forgive’ may be pushing it a bit Wendz. I’ve ordered some cheapo prescription glasses online – I only use them for watching T.V. anyway.

  7. #15 by Colin on March 6, 2014 - 12:06

    Missus Love this tail of Flo’s – she’s so astute ! Jan X

    • #16 by tialys on March 6, 2014 - 12:19

      Jan! A comment! You are no longer just a ‘lurker’. x

  8. #17 by The Snail of Happiness on March 30, 2014 - 19:02

    Our dog Max (also a rescue) used to eat headphones… he finally seems to have grown out of it.
    I’m just wondering what state the person that the voodoo doll represented ended up in!

    • #18 by tialys on March 30, 2014 - 19:28

      I don’t think I’ve ever had a dog that didn’t have a penchant for something. Taz used to steal rolled up pairs of socks from the laundry basket and they would pass right through him in the same form – although nobody ever wanted to wear them again. Stan liked cushions and (the horror!) quilts. So far, as with your dog, it seems to be a youthful aberration that they grow out of. Fortunately, I bought the voodoo doll for its looks and not to practice the dark arts so it hadn’t been assigned to anybody otherwise they would have a broken arm and one eye hanging loose from its socket!

Leave a Reply

