Warm Coco

Having made Tilly’s Coco dress for my daughter, I decided to make the funnel neck version  for me with some double knit jersey I got when I was over in the U.K.  However, it is quite thick fabric and, although it seems just the right thickness and stability for the style,  I won’t be able to wear it much before it gets too hot here.

So, I wore it the other day and took some photos but the light was soooo terrible that I didn’t get any good ones.  I thought I’d better put them on though in case I don’t get around to wearing it again until the autumn.

I know, I know, I’ve cut my head off again but this is the best photo of the actual dress so I’ve used it.

Coco Dress

 Next time, I will make the sleeves a couple of inches shorter as these are supposed to be three- quarter length.

Hmm.  I’m doing some sort of hip thrust forward movement here, thus blurring the photo a bit and making it easier to see the seam of my tights.  It makes it look as though there is bunching round the waist but there isn’t (see above!).  Also, my boots look like wellies – which they aren’t – but, apart from that, you get the general idea.   I think this fabric would also have worked well as the tunic top version which has little side slits.

Coco Dress

  I used the overlocker to make the dress, though it isn’t necessary, and then a twin needle to do the hem.  I lengthened it by a couple of inches so it would be knee length on me as the original pattern is quite short.

warmcoco (3)

An ‘action’ shot, as I like to call my blurred photographs.

Overall, a quick and easy dress to make which is really comfortable to wear and quick to pull on.  I will make some more, short sleeve versions in a slightly finer stretch knit for the warmer weather.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jan Marriott on April 6, 2014 - 20:55

    i used to love sewing the same pattern several times. Coco reminds me of a pattern I made about 1971-2……all in heavy duty crimplene!
    1…sleeveless, funnel neck, maxi length in bottle green.
    2…, long sleeves, funnel neck tunic with hot pants!! navy blue. With this I wore over the knee thick socks and clunky lace ups.
    3…long sleeves, forget the neck, tunic with patch pockets and flared bell bottom pants…..aubergine crimplene.
    Thought I was the bees knees.

  2. #2 by tialys on April 7, 2014 - 09:40

    I particularly like the sound of your second outfit Jan – I bet you did look the bees knees. This pattern does have a bit of a late 60s, early 70s vibe going on actually. I should imagine it would have worked well with crimplene which had some of the same qualities as jersey in that it didn’t fray, was easy to sew with, didn’t need lining, etc. However, wasn’t it supposed to make you perspire quite a lot? Luckily, it was very much a ‘wash and wear’ fabric and didn’t need ironing so I suppose you just threw it in the wash each time. I don’t think I had anything in crimplene but I do remember my Mum wearing crimplene dresses from time to time. It gets a bad press nowadays – probably as there was nothing ‘natural’ going on in the manufacture of it – but, hey, it was the 60s.

  3. #3 by lovelucie1 on April 7, 2014 - 13:22

    It looks so warm and comfortable. The sort of dress you will really look forward to wearing at the end of the year.

  4. #4 by tialys on April 7, 2014 - 13:58

    I think I might have just got it in in time – it’s like a summer’s day today!

  5. #5 by sew2pro on April 7, 2014 - 14:44

    It looks flawless! A real well done job.

    • #6 by tialys on April 7, 2014 - 16:57

      Well, I’m not sure it’s flawless (you haven’t peeped inside) but it’s good enough to wear which is always a bonus :}

Leave a Reply

